How to Sit to Relieve Lower Back Pain?

Darren Sherwood
5 min readApr 25, 2024

--

A few years back I had had my fair share of pain in my lower back, so I understand how debilitating it can be.

I found one of the most effective ways to manage this pain was by paying attention to how I sit and stand. In this post, I will share those insights and tips alongside my recent research on how to sit with lower back pain. Let’s get to it.

What is Lower Back Pain?

Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Lower back pain is a common condition that involves discomfort in the lower region of the back, which can vary in intensity. Most often, it’s an injury to muscles or tendons in the back. Risk factors include age, weight, overall health, occupation, and lifestyle.

They include pain when resting or sitting for long periods, pain when lifting something heavy or bending down, and pain radiating from the glutes or hips.

Usually, lower back pain gets better with rest, pain relievers, and physical therapy. However, some conditions require surgical repair. So, it’s essential to consult a doctor if you experience severe symptoms or your back pain lasts longer than 72 hours.

How to Sit With Lower Back Pain?

Sitting with lower back pain is uncomfortable, but there are some strategies you can try to help alleviate discomfort:

#1 — Use an Ergonomic Chair

Photo by Arthur Lambillotte on Unsplash

An ergonomic chair supports the natural curvature of your spine, which can significantly help reduce back pain. Here’s how I use an ergonomic chair to alleviate and avoid lower back pain:

  1. Adjust the Chair Height: I start by adjusting the chair height so that my feet are flat on the floor and my knees are at a 90-degree angle to reduce strain on my lower back.
  2. Lumbar Support: One of the key features of an ergonomic chair is its lumbar support. I ensure that the chair's lumbar support fits comfortably into the curve of my lower back to maintain the natural inward curve of the spine.
  3. Seat Depth and Width: The seat should have enough depth and width to support me comfortably. I ensure a little space between the back of my knees and the chair seat.

I also adjust the backrest to support the natural curve of my spine and the armrests so that my shoulders are relaxed and my elbows and lower arms rest lightly. Likewise, I take regular breaks, stand up, stretch, and walk around every 30 minutes.

#2 — Sit Properly

Photo by Luke Peters on Unsplash

How you sit makes a significant difference when dealing with lower back pain. Here are some tips that I’ve found helpful:

  1. Maintain Good Posture: Always keep your back straight and avoid slouching. This helps maintain the spine's natural curve and reduces pressure on the lower back.
  2. Keep Feet Flat on the Floor: It’s crucial to keep your feet flat on the floor and your knees at a right angle. This posture helps to keep the spine naturally aligned. Avoid crossing your legs, as this can lead to posture problems.
  3. Adjust Workstation: If you're working at a standing desk, ensure your workstation is ergonomically set up; your monitor is at eye level, and your accessories are within reach.

#3 — Stand Intentionally

There are some techniques that can help you stand from a sitting position when you have lower back pain. The video above highlights the bunch of it. But here’s how I do it:

  1. I start by sliding to the edge of my seat to reduce the distance I have to move to stand up.
  2. If the chair has armrests, I use them to push myself up. If not, I place my hands on the edge of the seat or my thighs.
  3. Then, I lean forward slightly and use the momentum to help me stand. Keep your back straight and avoid bending at the waist, which can strain the lower back.
  4. Once I’m standing, I balance myself before I start walking. This is especially important if I’ve been sitting for a long time.

📌 Tip! Always stand up slowly rather than rushing. This helps to prevent dizziness and gives your muscles time to adjust.

If standing up after sitting causes severe pain, it’s best to seek help from a healthcare professional.

Should You Sit or Stand With Lower Back Pain?

Photo by TheStandingDesk on Unsplash

Whether to sit or stand when you have lower back pain depends on the nature of your back pain. Here’s what I’ve learned:

Sitting

Sitting, especially for prolonged periods, puts pressure on the discs in your lower back and may exacerbate pain. However, sitting with good posture and using an ergonomic chair can help alleviate lower back pain.

I recommend following the best posture guide above: keeping your hips and knees at a 90-degree angle, using back support, and avoiding slumped positions or sitting cross-legged.

Standing

Standing helps reduce pressure on your spine compared to sitting, allowing for more movement, which can help prevent stiffness and pain. However, standing for long periods can also strain your back, especially if you have poor posture.

The key is to avoid staying in any one position for too long. Regular movement, whether standing up and walking around after sitting for a while or changing positions when standing, can help alleviate and prevent lower back pain.

Conclusion

Managing lower back pain requires a combination of good posture, proper sitting and standing techniques, and regular movement. Similarly, whether you sit or stand depends on what’s comfortable, but remember to avoid staying in any position for too long.

These strategies, along with professional medical advice, can help manage and alleviate lower back pain. Remember, what works for me may not work for you. So, it’s also important to listen to your body and seek professional help if your symptoms persist.

If you’re interested in reading more, you’ll find the complete and in-depth article on expertEasy.

--

--

Darren Sherwood

With expertise in software, management, human factors and ergonomics, Darren leads teams of talented Software Developers, researchers, writers and editors.