Portfolio Website- 6 Points to Attract Interviewers

Must Include these..

Rina Mondal
3 min readApr 19, 2024
Photo by Ben Kolde on Unsplash

Why do you need a Portfolio website when you have a Resume??

A resume can only provide a brief overview but a portfolio website offers the space to showcase your entire professional story.

It’s like comparing a summary to the whole book. A resume is a summary of the book whereas a portfolio website is the complete book.

It’s a more complete way to present yourself and make a lasting impression. It is a great tool to attract interviewers.

I have created a demo Portfolio Website using free templates of HTML5UP for your ready reference and I have also deployed using Github Pages. Refer to this link, if you want to know how you can host your portfolio website for free using Github.

In this blog, I will tell you about the things you must include in your Portfolio website.

1. HomePage

On this page, highlight how your passion, interests, and strengths make you the best candidate for the role you’re applying for. Incorporate a photo of yourself to add a personal touch. For inspiration, you can refer to the demo page. If you are a fresher, then tell about your dream and strength. If you are an experienced person, you may tell how your experiences will create an impact on your new role. But, if you are making a transition or have a year gap, then you can say, how you missed your current to-be role and how you prepared and worked hard to get the job.

i. For a Fresher: My passion for [specific stream or industry] has been a driving force throughout my academic journey, and I’ve long envisioned myself thriving in this particular role. With a genuine love for [highlight aspects of the stream or job that inspire you].

ii. For an experienced professional: Drawing from my extensive experience in [relevant field/industry], I’m poised to bring a wealth of knowledge and insights to my new role. With a track record of success in [highlight key achievements or skills], I’m ready to make a significant impact and drive positive change in my next endeavor.

iii. For someone making a transition or with a career gap: Reflecting on my journey, I’ve realized my passion lies in [desired role or field]. I have always missed this [particular field]. I’ve dedicated myself to preparing diligently, acquiring new skills, and honing my strengths. I’m now equipped and excited to pursue my dream role and make a meaningful contribution in [desired field/industry].

2. About Me/Explore Me

On this page, you may introduce yourself elaborating on your birthplace, family, educational details, achievements, experience, about everything in between. You can put your resume or add any link to your resume as well.

3. Projects

On this page, you can describe your projects and what you have learned from them. Provide a GitHub link where you have stored your code and offer complete information. I created a project and uploaded it to GitHub.

4. Blogs

If you have written any blogs on Medium, Blogspot, or WordPress, you may include them. If not, you may start writing on your niche and can showcase them on your Portfolio Website.

If you create content on Youtube or any other Social Networking Website-you can tag them as well.

5. Hobbies

Hobbies offer insights into one’s personality, reflecting interests, values, and even skill sets. Add your hobbies, showcase them by showing their online presence, and explain how they contribute to your growth.

Here, I have mentioned different types of hobbies you may discuss with the interviewer and the questions you may face regarding hobbies.

6. Contact Me/Get in Touch

Provide all the links- Linkedin, Twitter, and a valid email ID through which your potential clients can contact you.

Include the link to your Portfolio Website in your resume and on your social networking profiles to reach more people. I have explained the important points you must mention on your Portfolio Website to attract your clients or interviewers. You can include more if you have other strengths as well. There is no limit. Let your wings fly…

All the best.. :)

--

--

Rina Mondal

I have an 8 years of experience and I always enjoyed writing articles. If you appreciate my hard work, please follow me, then only I can continue my passion.