Happy Home

Daveil Arroyo
2 min readOct 24, 2015

--

I will in 3 years or less!

Who doesn’t want to wake up in his own house? Everyone wants to have a place to call their own — home sweet home. I wasn’t into this kind of stuff, big and ambitious dreams. Inside I’m still a boy who’s living in the now and have no “real” plans for the future. When I turned 25 last month, everything changed.

Today I wake up in our house, the place where I grew up. It’s an ordinary weekend morning, which I’m trying my best to do more often from now on. It’s just a matter of years before I will wake up on a totally different environment, away from my comfort zone. Several things are happening so fast and most of the time I’m left in awe.

Yesterday I woke up early and went for an ocular visit to my future house, with my mom, Tita and best friend. I was excited to see the model unit, a small and humble piece of lot with a couple bricks, stones and finish. I was thrilled to see this before my eyes. It was an asset to work hard for and a future to look forward to. I could no longer deny that I’m passing through the unavoidable phase of adulthood.

Tomorrow I will wake up determined and focused. I will do my best and work harder to earn not for money but for my dream. I will do it because I can. I will do it not only for me, but for my family. I will someday wake up from this small piece of lot I call my own and greet my neighbors and their kids. I will decorate my own space and can finally paint the walls with the color I want. I will in 3 years or less!

--

--