Phil Knight — author of Shoe Dog: A Memoir by the Creator of NIKE

The Best Business Books of the 2010s

The highest rated AND the most read

David Burgess
6 min readDec 23, 2019

--

In a previous story, I looked at the top business books of 2019. In this story, I widen the focus to the entire 2010s.

Regular readers will know that I like to triangulate data from multiple sources to zero in on the ones that are most likely to be a good investment of my time. In this story, I combine reader ratings with readership data. Both data come from Goodreads. I scraped data for the top 500 business books on Goodreads. Of these, around 200 were from the 2010s and were the population for this story.

Sales data (for which I have relied on the New York Times best seller lists) tells only how many books have been bought. If my own experience is indicative, some proportion of those will end up on shelves unread. Then there are the gifts that don’t quite hit the mark and also remain unread.

Highest rated

The following table shows the highest rated business books published in the 2010s.

Top 20 highest rated business books of the 2010s (Source: Goodreads)

Readers of my earlier story on the best business books of 2019 will spot a few familiar titles here. Several books published before…

--

--

David Burgess

Father, bass player, music and film geek, nature lover. Advocate, educator, consultant for business as a force for good.