Is Fear Keeping You From Seeing The Signs?

The Universe Has A Way To Get Your Attention

Deborah Holmén
Clear Yo Mind
7 min readNov 25, 2021

--

Photo by Geronimo Giqueaux on Unsplash

“When the student is ready, the teacher will appear. When the student is truly ready, the teacher will disappear!-Lao Tzu.”

Who would have thought that the Cracker Barrel gift shop was where I was given a sign to reassure me I was on the Right Path.

Sometimes when navigating this journey, we need little reminders that you are connected to something bigger.

Rich and I were discussing how blessed we’ve been since arriving in Florida. We had a chance to live on a boat for a year, and upon selling it, we quickly found a beautiful place to live in Saint Petersburg.

We met so many great people on incredible journeys and had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful city. When our lease came up, our friends offered us their home to watch over as they travel for the next six to eight months or so. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect.

I told Rich our luck was more about being open to whatever comes our way and not trying to control it. He was starting to believe that since we had many instances of things falling into place many times on our adventures in Florida.

Part of trusting the concept ‘things will work out’ is being aware of the signs all around you that you are on the right Path. If you’re not on the right Path, things seem to inevitably go wrong.

It reminded me of a time when I wasn’t ready to recognize a sign placed in front of me. I would ignore it or find an excuse not to take its lead, but I soon realized the message will find you, again and again, ~ when you are finally prepared to receive it.

I told Rich of a time I avoided seeing the signs, but the Universe had a way of presenting itself in the strangest ways, like a strange Blue Owl!

Fear Muddles the Message

In March 2013, my daughter, Paige, and I were on vacation skiing in Colorado. While walking around the hotel waiting for dinner, we came upon a gift shop and perused its uniquely curated gifts.

We went to a book display with all sorts of interesting books. In the center was a book with an odd-looking blue owl on the cover. Paige instantly picked it. To my surprise, she said, “Mum, this is perfect for you! You should read this for your writing!”

I loved her enthusiasm and read the book jacket. I found it interesting, yet I felt uneasy. I couldn’t put my finger on it.

I knew it was some type of fear. Not the scary kind, but fear that made me feel I wasn’t ready for what the book entailed.

Writing Down Your Soul: How to Activate and Listen to the Extraordinary Voice Within, written by Janet Conner, was about the power of sacred journaling, personal prayer, and forgiveness to heal your heart and transform your world.

You’re probably thinking, “Well, that seems harmless.” But imagine if you were standing on a cliff and were told by someone that the moment you take that first step, you would be transformed.

First of all, I wasn’t confident that I would be transformed. The book was about writing, and I have to admit, even though I have been writing for 17 years, I didn’t have a great deal of confidence in my ability at that moment.

The “cliff” I had been working toward was learning to trust that the world would provide, as long as I began to write for myself and no one else.

The book teaches you to journal, and through practice, trust that what you write down is your pure intuition. To take that first step, you have to completely trust yourself. I definitely wasn’t ready for that.

The book also stated that it could heal my heart? My heart seemed fine. Although I had recently ended a twenty-year marriage, I felt I made the best choice for Paige and me. I left the marriage to rediscover my strength and the Path I was meant to be on.

The forgiveness part seemed to be where the confusion was lurking. Forgiveness is a big word if you don’t know what it means and what it’s intended to do. Was I ready to forgive myself for all my mistakes, and would that act of forgiveness transform my life?

Sure, I’ve read forgiveness is the act of letting go of the unrest and bitterness to create peace within yourself. In fact, Martin Luther King once said, “Forgiveness is not an occasional act; it is a permanent attitude.”

“Forgiveness is not an occasional act; it is a permanent attitude.” MLK

I smiled at Paige and told her, “Not yet, honey.” When I put the book down. I could see her disappointment, which started a cascade of thoughts.

Why was I so scared about journaling or forgiveness? What in my life needed transformation? Did I need to forgive myself? Or, maybe someone else?

These were scary thoughts, and I was not ready to answer any of them.

The vacation ended, and life went on. It wasn’t until four months later that the book would be presented to me again. Was I ready to receive and be open to it this time?

The Universe’s Persistence

Paige went on vacation with family up the west coast. While in Oregon, she met a wonderful family that had a barn on the property. To Paige’s delight, the grandmother took her to see a newly hatched family of barn owls.

Photo by Doug Swinson on Unsplash

Later that same day, Paige wandered into a quaint bookstore, and to her surprise, discovered the very same book she presented to me from our vacation four months prior! Yup! The little owl called to her, and she immediately bought it.

She arrived home with the gift hidden behind her back. She said, “Mum, you know how you always say to pay attention to your gut? Well, mine told me you need to read this. Now!”

I smiled as she took the book from behind her back. She then continued to tell me how she was led to so many owls that day. She said that if she hadn’t been given so many signs of owls, she might have totally overlooked the book, but it was like the universe was preparing her to be alert. I agreed.

I accepted the book with curiosity this time. The timing was right. My angels knew I would need to empower myself with what I was about to discover days later.

The relationship I was in at that time took a heart wrenching turn. I found the man I was with was having multiple affairs with women online and in person. Yup! There was a life lesson being presented if you’ve ever seen one! Journaling helped me navigate leaving him and choosing a better Path.

I have been journaling ever since. I learned so much about my intuition and that I’m a stronger woman than I thought. I was able to make healthier choices for myself.

I have forgiven myself, found incredible peace, and now embrace times of difficulty utilizing the reflection process a journal requires.

Journaling has empowered me in so many ways. I feel my angels knew I would need a way to process the pain and hurt I was about to go through, and the book was a perfect guide.

So, what does this have to do with receiving an intuitive Sign at the Cracker Barrel gift store?

Well, after telling my story to Rich, we finished our breakfast. Rich went into the gift store to pay, and I went to the ladies’ room.

When I came out, Rich was standing there smiling with this little furry friend in his hand. It looked just like the owl on the cover of the book which he had never seen before! I pulled the image of the book up on my phone for him to see.

He said, “Well, this is kismet, isn’t it?” We both laughed at the serendipitous moment.

I bought it immediately and sent it to my daughter to thank her for being open to what the universe was telling her~ Mum was ready for a transformation.

I now look at things with a more open lens and pay attention to the Signs I am given!

Because “when the student is ready, the teacher will appear!”

Intuition Is a Powerful Tool Against Life’s Pitfalls

--

--

Deborah Holmén
Clear Yo Mind

Sharing my musing on the human experience and tapping into our greater purpose. Writer at The Good Men Project, A Parent is Born, Illumination, and more.