Return of the Cast Iron Cookware

Frederick Coleman
4 min readFeb 15, 2019

--

This is part 1 of a 7 part series on my exploration of past-iron. Its best to read them in order:
Part 1: Return of the Cast Iron Cookware
Part 2: The Search for Cast Iron Knowledge
Part 3: A Steak Pun is a Medium Well Done
Part 4: Rare Stake or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Cast Iron
Part 5: Cast Iron Politics?
Part 6: A Brief Walk Through the History of Cast Iron Cookware
Part 7: Heritage

I grew up appreciating cast iron pans. My parents, especially my father, loves cast iron, and we have always had numerous pans. Everything would be cooked in one: ground beef, hamburgers, steak, nachos, even heating up tortillas. They are the superior cookware. So when I went off to university a few years ago, I had some trouble adjusting to the fact that I no longer had my trust cast iron. Thankfully, my parents got the hint after I said “Gee, I sure do need a cast iron pan,” every time I saw them, and they got me one for the holidays.

My first batch of ground beef in my new cast iron. Yum!

My problem is, although I’ve always used and eat food made in cast iron cookware, I’m not that much of a cook. Sure, I can do some good ground beef, I can heat up frozen burgers, but perfect the craft of cooking a mean steak on a cast iron skillet has eluded my grasp. But not for much longer.

Now before I get any further, if you’ve been following me you’re probably waiting for me to brilliantly insert something about Bitcoin or cryptocurrency in here. I’m afraid that won’t happen, although I’m sure there are some cast iron cookware sellers who accept Bitcoin, so I do recommend you to check one of those out! But, I have to apologize, but my next serious of blogs won’t have anything to do with Bitcoin. This is for a class looking at the idea of craft. My next few posts will therefore be about improving the craft of cast iron cooking. For those who don’t know me, I’m a student in Switzerland. Although I typically write about cryptocurrency and political implications, I have many other interests, notably travel (especially airlines), politics, and history. I am pretty politically active, which is why politics often dominate my posts. However, as mentioned, these next few posts will be about cooking. Which isn’t my strongest forte.

And cooking in cast iron truly is an art. It allows you to get the right seasoning, cook to the perfect temperature, and it takes you back to before all the artificial non-stick pans came about. After all, cast iron cooking has been around for a long time because its cheap and easy to use. Both medieval peasants and kings could use it. However, during the middle of the 20th Century, cast iron’s market share fell dramatically. By the end of the 20th Century only one major American cast iron cookware manufacturer remained.

But its making a comeback. Increasingly, both big name chefs and individuals are using cast iron. Even United Airlines, in their Polaris lounges, use cast iron to serve some of their food. This is part of the recent craft movements, attempts to reach back into the past to escape an overly industrialized society are increasing. Just read what the Tennessee chef mentioned in the article, “‘Our cuisine is defined as Progressive Appalachian,’ Korman said, ‘and cast-iron cooking played a large role in the history of Appalachia.’” Cast iron cooking is all about reconnecting with the past, and avoiding modern kitchen implements.

A yummy United breakfast in cast iron.

But cast iron is also, quite frankly, the superior cooking utensil. It retains heat much better than other pans. It adds to the seasoning of what you’re cooking. Its a natural non-stick pan. So flashbacks to the past aren’t the only reason cast iron is regaining popularity. Just don’t cooking with too much acidic food unless you want the iron to leak into your food. (Though a little bit of acidity is always okay, so don’t worry about that wine sauce.)

With all this history, both personal and societal, and the easy excuse to purchase a lot of steaks, learning the craft of cooking in cast iron was a perfect choice for my class’s exercise. So join me in cooking some good steaks, learning a new craft, and hopefully getting an A. I’m only sorry I can’t share the food with you.

--

--