ACTION: My word and theme for 2018.

DJ Waldow
6 min readJan 4, 2018

--

Just over a year ago, I hopped on a flight from California to Washington, D.C. to participate in The Women’s March.

At The Women’s March: From L to R … me, my mom Sharon, & my Uncle Joe.

For me, The Women’s March was a chance to turn my disgust and rage for everything Donald Trump represents into something positive. I will never forget that day in January 2017. Men and women — human beings of all shapes and sizes, of all ethnicities, of all sexual orientations, of all religions — got together to peacefully protest Donald Trump and advocate for women’s rights.

It was far from a perfect protest. The messaging was not ideal. There were some strong words spoken (see: Madonna). However, I truly believe it was the start of an awakening in this country. It was the beginning of the average American citizen caring about politics. It was the beginning of people like me getting involved to defend our democracy like we have never done before. It was the start of doctors such as Jason Westin getting off the sidelines and running for Congress.

I will not stop fighting FOR what I believe is right and AGAINST what is I know is wrong.

Unfortunately, since that amazingly invigorating march in January, I’ve wasted far too much negative energy complaining … leaving little to no time for action.

I re-engaged on Twitter … mostly to share “not normal” news about Trump and his Administration, to complain about the awfulness that is Donald Trump, and to generally shout my anger/disgust/sadness into the mostly empty void that is my Twitter feed.

I re-joined Facebook after deleting the app from my phone a few years ago. While I definitely use Facebook to share pictures of my adorable kids, ask my tribe questions, and post about silly stuff, I also use Facebook to … well … complain about Trump.

I engaged in conversations that turned into shouting matches with friends and family … all about Trump and his Administration.

I launched This Is Not Normal, a site dedicated to sharing content related to the Trump Administration that is just not normal. However, by March, I just could not keep up. Now I read Amy Siskind’s weekly update, Experts in authoritarianism advise to keep a list of things subtly changing around you, so you’ll remember.

I began watching and listening to politics many (many many) hours a day. MSNBC, CNN, Daily White House Press Briefings, podcasts like Pod Save America (love!). I subscribed to The New York Times and The Washington Post and read them religiously. I began reading The Atlantic and HuffPost and Vox and Bloomberg and The New Yorker.

In 2017, if it was political, I read and watched and listened to it.

That’s a lot of consumption. A lot of time. Without a doubt, I feel more informed and knowledgeable about the political landscape than I ever have before. However, I other than being “smarter,” I don’t really have anything concrete to show for it.

Unlike Dr. Jason Westin, I did not choose to run for Congress (or any public office) in 2017. Unlike my mother, I don’t call my Congressional Representatives, nor do I write postcards to folks in D.C.

While I did attend a few Women’s March inspired Huddles, I didn’t stick with it more than a few meetings. I attempted to better understand “the other side” even going as far as launching 2 SIDES, a site where my Pro-Trump father and I discussed the two sides of Trump and his Administration. But even that petered out after two issues (Dad: If you are reading this, I’m reading for the next issue!).

All of that changes. Right now.

Less Talk, Less Complaining, More ACTION

To be clear, I’m not going to stop consuming content. I still believe it’s super-important to be well-informed. I’ll continue to read, listen, watch and educate myself on facts and issues.

However, 2018 will be a year of action.

Screengrab: Merriam-Webster

ACTION: a thing done (deed); the accomplishment of a thing usually over a period of time, in stages, or with the possibility of repetition (source: Merriam-Webster).

Action is my word — my theme — for 2018.

My pledge in 2018 is to do less talking, less complaining … and take more action.

I already have a short list of things I will be doing — starting this week — to get more involved to make a positive difference in this world, especially as it relates to our current political environment. I’m hoping this short list will grow into a much larger, more impactful list of action items that you all can also join me in, should you choose.

2018 Actions

My short list …

1. Get Her Elected

Screengrab from: GetHerElected.com

On December 13, 2017, I replied to this Lily Herman tweet:

Screengrab from Twitter

As promised, Lily replied back immediately. My pro bono services begins January 8th. I cannot wait to help get progressive women elected in 2018! Read more about Lily Herman and her Get Her Elected initiative here.

2. Indivisible

Indivisible is a non-profit organization that launched shortly after the 2016 Presidential Election. Its mission is “to cultivate and lift up a grassroots movement of local groups to defeat the Trump agenda, elect progressive leaders, and realize bold progressive policies.” Read their story here — fascinating.

Per Indivisible founders Leah Greenberg and Ezra Levin:

It may have started as a tweeted Google Doc, but now we feel an extraordinary sense of responsibility to help this movement as best we can. We will continue our work to demystify congressional advocacy; support the community of local groups putting the Indivisible Guide into action; and, build momentum, shared purpose, and a vibrant community of angelic troublemakers.

I’m in. All in. I just signed up to get weekly actions and updates. I’m reading “The Guide” now.

3. Food Literacy Center

Screengrab from Food Literacy Center

Okay, so this one is not related to politics (or Trump) in any way I can think of, but it’s so so important.

The Food Literacy Center was born in July, 2011.

With a lifelong career in nonprofit management and a personal passion for improving our food system, founder Amber Stott saw a critical gap: helping individuals improve their knowledge, attitude, and behavior towards real food. As a food writer and blogger, Amber has spent years researching and writing about the need for increased education of our food system. With the help of a supportive community, she decided to merge her personal passion with her professional skills to fill the food literacy need.

I was fortunate enough to get introduced to The Food Literacy Center by my neighbor, friend, Honey Agency owner, and awesome human being, Meghan Phillips, who then introduced me to Amber Stott, Food Literacy Center founder.

The Food Literacy Center’s mission: to inspire kids to eat their vegetables. We teach low-income elementary children cooking and nutrition to improve our health, environment, and economy.

Amazing, right?

2018 is the year I’m getting more involved with The Food Literacy Center. Stay tuned.

That’s my short list, one I will be adding to as the year goes on.

Less talk, more action. Let’s defend democracy in the most amazing country in the world. Who is with me? What is your word & theme for 2018?

--

--

DJ Waldow

Marketing | Writing | Content Creating. Creative. Passionate. Human | @umich alum | LOVE beer, coffee, people & a good smell | #HashtagAddict | ​ Giphy Master