Leaders are

D.W. Nickerson
2 min readMar 31, 2023

--

A series on what Leaders are.

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

As I discussed in my story Hello World! I told of my discovery that I first started off writing as someone who I was not and committed to myself not to do that anymore.

I spend a lot of time driving each month to the tune of 2,200 to 2,400 miles. I spend a lot of time listening to audiobooks or just thinking.

This morning on my drive to work I was thinking about what I like to read online and what is too long a story or even an email. I decided the one to two minute mark is my preferred read time for online articles when it applies to thought-provoking articles. This time mark does not apply to instructional articles or research information.

I then decided that I could share some thoughts on Leaders and what they are. I could provide a “series” of quick reads that would engage thought on Leaders and leadership.

To begin here are some terms that should not exist.

* Bad Leader

* Toxic Leader

* Good Leader

* Great Leader

* And any other adjective applied to the term Leader

The only term that should exist is Leader. When you apply adjectives to the term Leader you form a scale in leadership that should not exist. A Leader and leadership should only ever be one thing!

In my life, I have been around Leaders and I have also been around people assigned to a leadership role there is definitely a difference.

As we approach the target read time I have set for my series I will tell you if you are interested in the series to follow then give me a follow and let's explore and also discuss what “Leaders are”.

Thank you for your time,

D.W.

--

--

D.W. Nickerson

Skilled in critical thinking, knowledge management, leadership, and computer systems. Always seeking to simplify processes and increase efficiency.