A boy told me these words

That’s when I knew what love wasn’t

Ami
2 min readJan 5, 2024
Photo by Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

Y’all probably remember me from here. You recall my story. How I wondered what ‘I love you' got as a response these days?

I come bearing news, well, very good news! To say my 2023 just went away will be an understatement. I found some love in the unlikeliest of places.

Guys, ever been exposed to the truth, only to realize you were believing a lie all along? That’s how reality hit hard when I met this guy. He changed everything I felt and thought love was.

He turned me over and loved all of me. He took my imperfections and called them ME. He didn’t see any difference, he loved me all the same. When he finally said those words, they were the cherry on top of all the love he had already shown.

I wasn’t surprised. It didn’t come as a shock. Everything I had experienced with him was LOVE. He showed me what it truly meant and I am glad I waited. Glad I held on. Glad I still wanted to know what love was.

And now I do! And it feels like I can do anything and everything. I feel great every day. He has my heart and he keeps it safe. He holds my thoughts and keeps me close.

I love you’s' still feel like they should. And I can listen to them all day, every day.

--

--

Ami

Storyteller. Content Writer and Poet. Writing topics on personal development and self-care. I write short fiction, poems and real-life experiences too.