My first 7 days on Medium

I’m really starting to like it here, so I think I’ll stick around

Alex Wittman
2 min readDec 8, 2017
Photo by Carli Jeen on Unsplash

Today marks my seventh consecutive day posting on Medium. I’m not lying when I say it’s been fun.

Like a surprising amount of fun!

I started my Medium account back in September and challenged myself to post every weekday. That didn’t happen.

After just two days, I stopped posting. I wasn’t even logging in to read other people’s stories. I just lost interest.

Last Saturday, I came back. I saw an intriguing headline in my email, and it took me to Medium to read the story. Within five minutes, I had a draft open.

I was ready to write.

Trying to avoid my mistakes from the first time around, I didn’t commit to a posting schedule. I figured if I just wrote when I felt like it that would be enough.

Well, I’ve felt like it every single day.

I think I’m addicted to Medium.

I’m proud of the stories I’ve written and inspired by the writers I’ve found. My creativity energy has been off the charts. I have so many ideas!

Generally, I thrive on goals and commitments (I ran a marathon for god sake),but I want to keep this organic and fresh.

I want to write because it’s what I want to do not because it’s what I have to do. I’ve fallen back in love with writing, and this is my honeymoon phase. My plan is to soak up every damn minute of it.

To anyone reading this that is new to Medium, welcome. You have found a truly awesome place. The claps are sort-of hard to get used to, but the community is a good one. Write. Read. Have fun.

Hi, I’m Alex! After living in Madrid, Spain, for two years, I recently moved to Mexico. Tacos and sunshine, baby! When I’m not writing, I’m reading, running or drinking red wine. For more of my writing, check out my blog: Backpacking Brunette.

--

--

Alex Wittman

After living in Madrid for two years, I moved to Mexico. When I’m not writing, I’m reading, running or drinking red wine. http://backpackingbrunette.com/