#100daysOfCode & Design

Carmen Wright
2 min readMar 14, 2017

--

Image: Unsplash

I knew eventually I would have to start a months-long project in order to make myself more confident with my design and development skills. As much as I held off as my Twitter feed became littered with #100DaysOfCode tweets, I knew it would come to this and here I am.

Since I knew I wouldn’t be able to code every day and I can spend hours going through design and development websites to read articles (the number of pieces I have bookmarked here is starting to get ridiculous), I modified the rules set up by Alexander Kallaway. I want to be able to develop my design skills even further so I’ve decided to include some design time allowance for my challenge.

#100daysOfCode…modified

  1. Work counted toward #100daysOfCode must be at least a half hour long with evidence that something was achieved (ie. a solution to a problem, a sketch, or a new avenue of thought).
  2. On Real Life Work Days (I’m a bookseller), it is okay to not code and/or design. However, I MUST read, research, or sketch something related to any projects.

Because I have a lot of projects at the moment, I needed to have a list of what does and doesn’t count.

Projects that count:

  1. Portfolio redesign, including resume sprucing, cover letter writing, designing and coding site
  2. CodetteClub articles
  3. Courses I signed up for (another issue I have is how many courses I signed up for)

Projects that DON’T count:

  1. Job search
  2. Reading through Twitter likes or Medium articles when it’s the only thing I’ve done.
  3. For how frequently I visit the library, it wouldn’t be fair for my skills development.

Record keeping

--

--

Carmen Wright

Designer who codes and sells books. Former (published) academic. Co-founder @CodetteClub. She/Her.