Life In Monochrome (Week 13)

A weekly summery of my 365 Monochrome project.

Erik Witsoe
3 min readDec 4, 2017
Reverie 86/365 Canon EOS 6D Mark II Sigma ART 50mm 1.4f
Contrail 87/365 Canon EOS 6D Mark II Sigma ART 20mm 1.4f
As Above, So Below 88/365 Canon EOS 6D Mark II Sigma ART 20mm 1.4f
Neighborhood Watch 89/365 Canon EOS 6D Mark II Sigma ART 50mm 1.4f
Early To Rise 90/365 Canon EOS 6D Mark II Sigma ART 20mm 1.4f
91/365 Big Wheel Canon EOS 6D Mark II “L” Series 50mm 1.2f
An Impression of Something Happening Canon EOS 6D Mark II “L” Series 50mm 1.2f

Christmas is coming and the city has lit up in anticipations. We now have the full blown Christmas Market Carnival in our city center at Plac Wolnosci (Freedom Square) and it has become a lively gathering of souls each and every night, especially flocking to the newly arrived Ferris Wheel. Brave ones are they who endure the chilly night air and a few spins on the ride. For the next month or so, the early darkness is pushed back and tamed a bit with all of the extra lights danging throughout the city. I love this glow at night and the colorful aura they provide.

Each street I come across has a different story to tell and I love discovering these pages as they turn. Each image i grab is an instant favorite for me and it gets harder each day to choose the one that will be a part of this project. This last week I am particularly smitten with “Neighborhood Watch” as this little flock of Pigeons is always hanging out waiting for the lady on floor three to open her window, dump a handful of crumbs and watch the squabble of feeding frenzy to ensure. For the last 4 years I have watched them do this and each time I walk by they are unsure of whether they should be afraid of me or die trying to get the food. Either way they fly with frenzy and I may be more afraid of being bombed than they are of me. That is for sure.

I am also quite fond of the last one “An Impression of Something Happening” as it somehow strikes a chord for me and tickles to life a distant memory that maks me smile. If the actual memory comes to mind, I will updat eit but for nowI liek the mystery there and enjoy the spark it gives.

But, this week has certainly inspired me to look for the next week and I am excited to see where it will take me when we look back from week 14/Until then, have a great week and thanks for watching

Last weeks recap can be found here Week 12.

You can see all of the images here Monochrome 365.

Gear supplied by my amazing partners at Digital24. Stop by and tell them Erik sent you!

--

--

Erik Witsoe

I’m Erik, a Photographer focused on lifes details, passionate creative and artist who relocated from Seattle to Poznan with my muse. www.erikwitsoe.com