From AI Imagination to Reality: A Creative Journey with Generative AI in Everyday Life

Ray Mi
4 min readJun 6, 2023

--

Introduction

In one of my blog posts, I introduced an interesting concept called ‘Robotic Generative AI Automation’, which integrates various Generative AI applications and orchestrates tasks between Generative AI tools.

Last week, I realized an even better extension of this idea. You don’t need to limit yourself to Generative AI. Instead, these emerging technologies can help shape your imagination, contextualize your thoughts, and eventually bring them to life.

In this article, you’ll see how to:

  • Prompt ChatGPT to elaborate on a rough idea.
  • Use the output as a cue for Midjourney (Text to Image) to generate images.
  • Leverage Google Image Search to find precisely what you’re looking for.

From ChatGPT to Order Delivery

I spent my weekend in the picturesque Fire Island Pines. One afternoon, the owner of the vacation house asked me if I could come up with an idea to decorate a large, currently empty, plant pot in the front yard. None of us had any experience with gardening, making it a simple but challenging task. The requirements were straightforward — 1) Deer-resistant, as the plant pot would be located in a non-fenced area, and 2) Decorative — that’s all.

Left: Picturesque Fire Island Pines; Right: The Pot

Actually, I took a long walk around the island to observe what other houses were doing if they had these floor pots filled with plants, hoping to gather some inspiration. Despite the fact that many homeowners had beautifully landscaped front yards, they were all behind fences, which contradicted our ‘deer-resistant’ criterion.

So, what should I do?

You know, when you’re physically wandering around, your mind can also wander. An idea suddenly popped up: I could use generative AI to get what I want, couldn’t I?

So, here’s what I did, simply stringing together multiple applications to ready my order:

I. Prompt ChatGPT to elaborate on a rough idea

I asked ChatGPT this simple question:

give me a detail explanation of large floor pot with deer-resistant plan(t) for landscaping decoration purposes

And here is the output (just the first two paragraphs):

Envision a large floor pot that stands as a focal point in your garden, both a statement piece and a practical strategy for deer-resistant gardening. This pot, substantial in size, could be a ceramic urn or perhaps a rustic wooden barrel, depending on your aesthetic preference. Its size allows for a variety of plantings while also serving as a prominent decorative element in your landscape.

Now, consider its contents. The key here is selecting plants that are naturally unappealing to deer. A beautiful, vibrant blend of deer-resistant plants might include perennials like Russian Sage with its spiky, lavender-hued flowers and aromatic foliage. You could complement these with ornamental grasses such as Fountain Grass, whose tall, feathery plumes would add both height and textural contrast.

II. Use the output as a cue for Midjourney (Text to Image) to generate images

I then used the output above as a prompt for Midjourney to generate images from the text.

Midjourney Bot

Out of the four pictures Midjourney generated, the one on the lower left corner came closest to my imagined concept, so I proceeded to upscale that image and downloaded it.

III. Leverage Google Image Search to find precisely what you’re looking for

The red-brown leaves at the top are exactly what I’m seeking, but what are they, and where can I find them?

We already had such a tool even before generative AI! Simply use this machine-generated image as input for Google Image Search. You’ll find plenty of websites showcasing similar-looking plants, and you could even place an order right away!

Google Images Search

What are your creative ways of applying Generative AI into your daily life? I’m eager to learn from you!

© 2023 Ray Mi. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use or reproduction of this blog post without express written permission from the author is strictly prohibited. Information is provided as-is, without warranties. Views are those of the author alone.

--

--