Dear my teenage self, If only I could tell you that;

Life doesn’t end when you fail a test or two.
Life doesn’t end when you get redirected so many times in your teenage life.
Life doesn’t end when you don’t get accepted into that school that you wanted.
Life doesn’t end when your closest one breaks your heart.
Life doesn’t end when they bullied you for no reason back then.

I’m sorry you had to go through all those hard days back then in your younger days. I’m sorry I pushed you to prove them wrong when you didn’t really have to prove anything in the first place.

I’m sorry that some of my bad (or unusual) choices in life made you feel that way; making you repeatedly settle for people you don’t deserve. For making you feel that you’re hard to love.

I’m sorry I didn’t give you the same amount of love as much as you gave others.

I’m sorry the realization came later than it had to be; but hey we’ve both tried our best, don’t we? We did the best that we knew at that time; every single time. I’m sorry I failed to remind you at that time, that someone’s world is a better place because you are in it.

My last apology to you, my younger self, for not reminding you more often that you’re enough; you’ve always been.

And nothing would change, even for years and years later. Even until this very second when we finally both knew that both versions of us deserve to be seen and celebrated every day :)

-

this letter is a part of #UnsentLettersToValentine project by @lucedaleco 💌

--

--