Chantico’s Way

Fiyah Angelou
1 min readMay 28, 2018

--

“Feed your fire!”

Says Chantico

Never missing a beat

Pouring scalding tea from her open palms into stone kettles and brick teacups

Slicing into our pie with hot swords

I moved from room to room in her home

House to house in her village

“Break ritual to build ritual”

Someone is handing me a hot sweet potato

Someone is handing me powdered sage

I eat.

“Your healing has been mishandled”

Chantico speaks.

“What is therapy for you, is buried under taboo”

Someone is rinsing my hair

A jaguar is anointing my scalp

I learn to read stars

And flames

I practice scrying into flames

I see my great-grandmother there

Taking gallant strides across the wick

Speaking to me in sparks and flickers

They gift me a dog

I wake up at home

Wiser about what protection means.

Intuitive Prompt

--

--