My iPad photo workflow: transmitting

Fritz Nordengren
9 min readDec 6, 2023

Using ShutterSnitch to caption and send images to the client

If you’re just finding this series of posts, let me do a quick recap.

I started with intake, getting images from the camera and into the iPad.

The second piece is editing. Photo editing could be a weeks-long course. But my workflow may give you the basic tools to set yourself up for success editing within Lightroom and suggest ways to speed up your edits, especially on tight deadlines.

This third piece concerns captioning, metadata, and transmitting images to their next destination. In my workflow, my destination is an FTP file server at the wire service.

In your work, it could be Dropbox, Smug Mug, Flickr, Zenfolio, Google, or your file system. My goal with this is to share the possibilities and encourage you to modify my workflow to suit your needs.

Let’s level set where we are

If you are a current ShutterSnitch user, I think you can skim through some of the preliminary setup discussions and look at the workflow.

If you are new to metadata or new to ShutterSnitch, don’t panic. Typing step-by-step and reading my steps is much more complicated than in real life. My best advice is to take it one step at a time. Try it out, and then, if you are still unclear, pop me a question in the comments.

--

--

Fritz Nordengren

I am an award-winning producer and documentary storyteller. I'd love to tell your story.