My expectations from a hiring process

John Doe
3 min readOct 25, 2018

--

In one of my previous articles I wrote my experiences with recruitment agencies. So far, I had two pleasant experiences with recruiters that were working at the respective IT companies. If I were to identify what were the key points then I would mention the following:

1) Provide personalized feedback!

Couldn’t be more predicable, isn’t it? Everyone wants a final result in a decent time frame. To me, I am able to wait up to three weeks after our first contact. If we are not at a final result whatever that is, then I will take it as a “NO! And don’t talk to us any time soon!”.

I’ve underlined the word “personalized”. I don’t need my name in a rejection letter. I need concrete feedback. I am always opened to find out what you didn’t like or what were your needs, and I was not able to fulfill them. Don’t waste time and energy on beautiful words, just give it to me straight! Yes, I am able to accept feedback.

For instance I was told that I don’t know the local language or that I need to know AngularJS thoroughly.

2) Be organized!

The first question that I am asking on an interview is “What is the hiring process?”. Usually, it is not fully described anywhere on the company’s website, or it is not specified at all. That’s why I am asking, because I don’t what to waste time on a interview that will definitely end up with no hiring. If the company culture is way too far from my principles that I’ll have to say a polite “No, thanks”. I’ve been asked numerous times to do technical tests and to write code for free. The employer may have it his way, but with other candidates.

I personally expect up to two meetings, usually one with the HR and a technical team, and one with a manager. It could be less meetings but not more than two. For example, once I was invited four times for the same position. It passed four weeks and I was still not a final result. That’s why I abort it. Take your time, but I hope it’s not taking forever.

On other interviews, I asked on our first meeting what would be the steps and they answered that they will decide it dynamically. Most likely this translates to “we have no idea of what we are doing” or “we are disorganized”.

If you don’t have an answer to “What is the hiring process?”, then I don’t have further interest. Despite my overall experiences, on my previous job hunt I encountered only employers that had a well defined hiring process.

3) Don’t ignore the candidate!

Not many, but there were times when I felt like I was not even listened.

For instance I said that I had no knowledge on a specific database server, but they keep asked questions on that. Though I insisted saying that I don’t know anything about that server, so there is no point asking further questions, they replied “Yes, no problem” and they kept asking from their quiz list.

4) Your attitude matters!

When you are at interview you must be positive. Obviously, this goes both ways — for the interviewer and the candidate. There’s no need for over-smiling, but if you enter the meeting with a negative attitude like being bored, concerned, tired than you can forget it. Nothing will come good out of it.

The 2–4 points are usually respected, so to speak. Well, 3 and 4 more or less. However, with roughly 35 interviews so far, only two provided consistent feedback — in reference to 1. One of them is my current employer. A rejection that was a positive experience will make me a returning candidate.

--

--