The bad outcome of working with recruitment agencies

John Doe
2 min readOct 25, 2018

--

Like all of my articles, this is another conclusion based on my experiences.

Every time I needed a job, I found it myself. Every single time! I was opened working with recruitment agencies and my final conclusion is that I wasted my time. Let’s elaborate my conclusion based on my experience.

1) No final result

Every time I worked with a recruitment agency the final result remained hanged in the wind. Every single time! No feedback at all, despite their promises. Weather it was in Romania or other countries the processes and experiences were the exactly the same.

In addition, they gave me a ton of forms and technical test (ew!) that needed to be solved under a deadline. With every recruitment agency I’ve lost around three hours. With every one of them! That is how long it took to complete those goddamned forms. I am almost convinced that I feed their databases for free. I never got an interview after the interaction with a recruitment agency nor any clue of feedback. Needless to mention any job offer.

2) No details about the job description, no answer to my questions

Every time I ask a recruiter details about the job there are two cases:

  • no answer at all. After all I am not a human, I’m just a number on their list.
  • an unclear answer among some pressure to send my resume. It’s something like: “Yeah, yeah, this amazing job opportunity is whatever you say just send me your CV”. And here I am shrugging. You saw my LinkedIn profile. You found me suitable. You contacted me. Why would you still need my CV? To fill your database, no thanks.

In either cases I am not getting clear answers to my questions.

3) I have a issue, I get myself a tissue

When it comes to job offers I am more informed than one could ever imagine. If I want to work somewhere I know to which address to submit my application. I know the reviews, I know some of their products/process which most of recruiters have no clue about it.

And why would I need a middle man anyway? I could interact with the employer directly. I don’t like the word middle.

Let me give you an example of why I avoid the middle man. Let’s forget the recruitment agencies for now and focus on real estate agencies. Let’s say I want to sell an apartment. I could go to one of them, meet a sales person with a shark smile ready to take my money. Why so, when I could sell it to the client from the first place? And what does it take: an announcement placed on social media. That’s all.

The same goes for recruitment agencies. I just don’t work with them. I am applying directly to the company that I (think) I want to work for. Recruitment agencies don’t have room any longer to fit into my simple (not simplistic!) schema.

--

--