The most inadequate questions that I was asked at interviews

John Doe
3 min readOct 26, 2018

--

On my previous article I wrote about a common question that I’m okay with it. Unlike, most other over-asked question that I will list below, you shouldn’t rehearse any answer, you ought be knowing it. You may read that article if you will.

I am going to list four “FAQs” that I don’t find their place during an interview discussion among some unexpected ones that left me speechless. I haven’t encountered them in many cases, but still, I feel the need to enumerate them in order to make sure that the interviewers will prepare themselves before an interview, not just the candidates, so inadequate questions should slowly be disappearing. At least I like to think so.

So here we go:

Most common questions:

1) Tell me something about yourself?

In one of my previous articles I wrote the importance of having a custom CV. You can read my short history — that’s why it’s called “resume”. It is no longer than 3 pages. You should get an idea fairly quick. You can also check my LinkedIn profile. Why do I need to go again through my document that the interviewer ought have reading it ahead of the interview? What’s the point in demanding me a “meaningful application”? Here’s a good video for further reference.

2) What your manager would say about you?

Go ask him! Do you hire people based on what others are saying about them? What’s the point of the an interview discussion? I thought that it is for the interviewer to get an impression of what people will have to deal with them. And vice-versa.

3) Why would I hire you?

Because you need someone like me, otherwise why did you invite me to the interview. In my particular case, I apply only to companies that are seeking people having my professional profile. And believe me, I am very informed on this matter.

4) From 1–10 how well do you know the language X?

From my honest point of view: this is just a stupid question because whatever answer you provide it’s a wrong one. Here’s why:

1–3 = Wrong! “Are you stupid? Is that it?! Get out!”

4–7 = Wrong! “Average? Meh! Next please!”

8–10 = Wrong! “Are you that good?! Let’s see!” And the claws will come out.

Unexpected questions:

5) What was you graduation mark?

To me it’s fair to ask if I have the diploma of a programmer for legal reasons, but why is the grade important? Maybe I worked during college to complete my theoretical knowledge with practical experience, so I couldn’t afford to be on top of the class.

6) From 1–10 how would you evaluate yourself for what you’ve done today at the interview?

Same to question #4. In addition, the interviewer should be answering this question internally (to him or to the upper management).

7) Do you think you live close enough to our office?

I don’t remember what I answered to this question, but somehow I got the job offer. However the question was inappropriate to me, so I had to decline it. When I’m asked a personal detail I am becoming very retained in the context of a job interview.

8) How long have you started looking for a job?

The same as #7 — I am being asked a personal detail. Besides, I am always looking for a job, be it in a active or passive manner. When I am asked this question we are talking about the active one.

9) Do you know somebody from the city/company?

No comment.

10) Do you really speak English as it says in your resume?

Da, dar nu acum.

Final thought

What I wrote above are experiences from my interviews were I’ve been as a candidate. Note: Most of them were asked when I was at the beginning of my career.

The purpose of this article is to prepare other for what it could happen. When I say other I am referring to both candidates and interviewers. People talk and the company reputation matters if there’s interest for good people not just some “resources”.

--

--