Enthusiasm vs. Action

Gary Vaynerchuk
2 min readMar 6, 2015

Why You Need One More Than the Other

Everybody wants to know the secret to launching a successful business. And, more often than not, any entrepreneur will have the inner dialogue that goes a little something like this: should I be all out there, enthusiastic, getting the word out? Or should I be nose to the grindstone, pay attention to the details, don’t look up?

Enthusiasm or action?

The truth is, you absolutely need both.

I know a lot of people with massive amounts of enthusiasm, but they can’t execute dick. Then, there’s the other side. People that can execute As on every paper, but without that passion, that bravado or fire, they’re only able to get limited return on that investment of execution.

But when it comes down to it, there is one that rises above the other. And that is action.

I’ve written before about how I think we are in the age of the introverted entrepreneur, and that applies here too. There are plenty of resources for you if you find yourself struggling with the enthusiasm part of the equation. Because when it comes down to it, what is more important: being excited about something, or actually doing that something?

People assume that because I am so outgoing, I’m mostly enthusiasm. But my enthusiasm is simply a byproduct of what comes naturally to me. I am far more action than anything else. If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t have so much going on. You need to put in the work. I pride myself on those skills, and I think my charisma often hides what I really am underneath, and that is: a hardcore executioner.

Don’t forget: I had run a large business before I ever “hit the scene,” so to speak. I was already thirty-years old when I started WineLibraryTV, the video show that put me on the map. I made my business happen, regardless of my personality. That was not the driving force. The driving force was my ability to execute.

So, if you only have enthusiasm, it’s time to find a partner or reevaluate, my friend. If you have the action skill set, use it. Use it a lot. And if you want the enthusiasm, go for it. But don’t waste time betting on your weaknesses. Bet on your strengths. That’s how you’ll win.

Thanks for reading! Do me a favor? Scroll down and click that recommend button. It would mean a lot to me.

--

--

Gary Vaynerchuk

Family first! But after that, businessman. CEO of @vaynermedia. Host of #DailyVee & The #AskGaryVee Show. A dude who loves The Hustle @Winelibrary & the @NYJets