How Solitude Can Make You a Better Leader

Joseph Norman
4 min readFeb 16, 2023

With help from 9 Leadership Quotes from Lead Yourself First

Cover photo of Lead Yourself First: Inspiring Leadership Through Solitude by Michael S. Erwin and Raymond Kethledge
Photo Credit: Joseph Norman’s library :)

Lead Yourself First is a comprehensive look at using solitude to support four categories of personal leadership;

  1. Clarity
  2. Creativity
  3. Emotional balance
  4. Moral courage

The authors present case studies of historical figures like Martin Luther King Jr., Dwight D. Eisenhower, Ulysses S. Grant, Jane Goodall & Winston Churchill.

In addition they work in thoughts from Brene Brown & General James Mattis as well as Navajo teachings.

Ever wanted to escape to the woods?

As I read & processed this book, my wife got an ear full about it.

At times I found myself thinking about living in the woods alone studying gorillas like Jane Goodall…

At that point, my wife checked my sanity & reminded me of our 3 goofball children. Here I realized solitude is a lost art for working parents. :)

Fantasies of alone time aside, Lead Yourself First is one of the best leadership books I’ve read in the last few years.

Reflecting on 9 quotes on…

--

--

Joseph Norman

Optimistic writer | Earned insights & stories on quotes, books, life & leadership from 10+ years managing teams as an English major :) | Let's connect!