Road to Web-Development

Nin Pasker
7 min readJul 17, 2022

Hello hello hello, welcome to my first blog post. My name is Nin Pasker and I’m an aspiring web-developer/programmer. This post is about how I found my calling for web-development.

I hope you enjoy the read & feel free to give me a follow on my social accounts I love meeting new like-minded people, links are at the bottom!

Computer screen with code opened up on it.
Photo by Arnold Francisca on Unsplash

The Beginning

Tiny Nin was always a curious, tinkering, & energetic person

Ever since I was a kid I had an interest for how technical things worked. A story my mom would always tell anyone who would listen, is when I was around 4years old I took my dads toolkit and took apart her radio because I thought little people were inside the little radio box talking to us.

From then she knew she had a little tinker-er on her hands. As the years went on I became more and more intrigued by technology. Back in my time growing up in the late 90's my sister and I finally got our parents to get us a home PC. My sister and I spent countless hours making cool new themes for our MySpace accounts. My mom would always have to warn us to not be on the computer when she was on the phone because it would force her call to drop, good ol’ Dial-Up internet days.

Nostalgia just hit me, and if you’re reading this and grew up in the same time I’m sure you just took a stroll down memory lane as-well.

Fast-forward to my high-school years where I was introduced to programming via computer engineering & computer science programs offered at York Memorial Collegiate (yes the school that caught on fire). Instantaneously I fell in love with being able to write something that a computer can interpret and output onto my screen.

Man sitting on the edge of a mountain raising his fist amongst a beautiful horizon.
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

The Downs

Teenage Nin fell in with the wrong crowd

After getting a taste of my passion, I was eager to learn more. The only problem is in high-school if you get entangled with the wrong crowd usually you end up going down with them. That’s exactly what happened to me, I started skipping school to be cool, engaging in activities that a young person should not even have access to. That was the beginning of my down-fall, I ended up not graduating with my class and taking an extra year at a different school, Central Technical School.

I do believe that was the best decision I made since I was away from what I was used to and I was forced to learn from the mistakes I made at my previous school and thrive from my past experiences.

Finally after graduating, instead of following my passions right into Computer Science/Computer Engineering, I enrolled at Humber College for Accounting. What a terrible mistake that was, my time at Central Technical School I took an accounting class which I thought I enjoyed, thanks to the teacher, but College Accounting was a totally different experience.

It was absolutely boring to me to have to look at t-tables to account for incomes, expenses and profits. Not even a semester in and I dropped out and switched into a Computer Engineering program they had to offer.

I was enjoying this new program, it was something that actually made me happy to learn, although it was difficult I was happy with having to struggle through problems and reaching out to colleagues and teachers for advice and guidance. The happiness and inner peace I was feeling with this choice came to an abrupt stop when my mother fell ill (she’s okay now), I had to put my studies on pause to help around with the financials and house duties.

Worn down piggy bank.
Photo by Fabian Blank on Unsplash

The Change In Direction

Adult Nin is determined to make a change for the better

Once my mother had gotten better I started seeing good money from the sales jobs I had taken to support my family in their time of need. I saved enough money to pursue my passions again, only this time I was loaded with experience and more conscious of what I wanted out of life.

This is when I stumbled upon Juno College’s Con-Ed courses led by the amazing instructor, Shangni Hu. Initially I was skeptical of paying $2000 CAD for a course that only lasted 3 months. After meeting with the recruiters for Juno College I can tell that they cared about their students, and that was a key point for me.

After successfully completing the first course, Intro to Web Dev, immediately I enrolled into their Intro to Javascript course. During my 6 months learning with Juno College I enjoyed every single class and project we had.

Take a look at this site I created with them in the first course, linked below.

After creating such beautiful websites with Juno College I really wanted to continue my education with them by enrolling into a boot-camp. Unfortunately at the time they didn’t offer any part-time options for boot-camp, since the job I currently work is full-time. I continued to self-learn with Codecademy, and also I tutored my cousins and friends via Zoom with what knowledge I had.

I knew at this point in my life that being a web-developer was something that brings me joy, it allows me to tap into my creative side and produce beautiful, responsive websites like the one you see above. This is where my tunnel vision is activated.

A man standing at the end of a long tunnel, the light illuminates the path of the tunnel.
Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

The End of the Beginning

“Now this is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.” — Winston Churchill, 1942

Currently, Juno College is running their Cohort 43 Front-End Web Development Boot-Camp, thankfully for me this is the first time they’re running a PART-TIME BOOT-CAMP 🥳. The minute I saw this notification on LinkedIn I was on their site filling out the application.

I’m happy to say I was accepted into the program and am currently enrolled in their curriculum. I’m ecstatic to create projects with fellow classmates & strengthen the foundation I’ve already built with Juno in the past.

Looking forward to continuing my journey in the world of technology, and creativity. And looking forward to connecting with great people in the industry!

Well well well, you’ve made it this far with me in my journey. Thank you for taking the time to read this far along. My goals with blog posts is to begin writing technical pieces as I learn more concepts of code, & to promote my brand more to gain traction in the tech world.

A plant blooming out of a jar of coins.
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Creative Tools Used

This is just a section to shout out the products I used to write the blog.

Big thank you to Medium for hosting a platform to write free blogs, great UI/UX interface with very simple text editing tools. Easy for anyone to use and post blogs with.

I use a Dell PC for my coding, posting, editing needs. It’s a beautiful computer and comes in way under Apple’s Mac PC pricing with almost similar specs. Take a look at it here: Dell Inspiron 7700 AIO, 27-Inch Touch Screen Desktop.

I also paired this beast of a Windows Desktop PC with a gorgeous set of Logitech MX Series keyboard and mouse. The keyboard is so great to type on vs. other conventional keyboards that come with PC’s, the keyboard was made with both Mac users & Windows/Linux users in mind. Typing on the keyboard doesn’t feel like a task, the buttons are comfortable to press and very responsive to touch.

Don’t get me started on the mouse if you struggle with scrolling this mouse will solve all your scrolling issues. They use a system called MagSpeed for ultra-fast scrolling — think about all the times you spend scrolling through your websites & code, not to mention creators scrolling through designs, business people scrolling through emails. This mouse eliminates that tedious task.

You can check out the keyboard and mouse combo here: Logitech MX Keys Advanced Wireless Illuminated Keyboard & Logitech MX Master 3 Advanced Wireless Mouse.

Contact Me At

Follow me on Twitter. Connect with me on LinkedIn. Check me out on GitHub. Send me emails on Gmail.

--

--