And so it begins…

Grace Notes
3 min readApr 2, 2022

--

Photo by Deeana Creates from Pexels

Ostensibly, I started this blog to create an online home for my coming out FAQ and video. But in setting this up, I did have in the back of my mind that this might become a fresh home for my thoughts.

There are a few blogs around the place that my prior self contributed too, but none of them feel like the right place or way for me to continue my writing. More to the point — to rekindle my writing. My main blog hasn’t received an update in years!

Blogging is actually super-important to me, personally (my next post will dig into why), and I have been feeling like I wanted to get back into the practice. Problem is, I’ve been finding it tough to get started. To write those first words. To take the first step in rebuilding my blogging momentum.

In part this is because over the years my writing has evolved to the point where I feel like I need to put a lot into each post. Somewhere in my head, a voice has emerged that says “it’s not enough to just share your thoughts.” That somehow every post needs to be epic. Fully researched, thought through, and backed up with links and considered, cogent arguments.

A typical blog post takes me between 2–4 hours to write (sometimes more). And in my world, as an innovator, musician, partner, pawrent (I love my dog), and friend & family member, that’s a big commitment, in what have become very busy and full weeks.

And compounding that is another voice that questions whether my thoughts have value in a general sense. “Who am I to think my voice even matters? Why would anyone care?”

My partner has recently been wrestling with some similar voices. In one of the courses she’s doing on social media and business, she came across an affirmation: “What interests me is of interest to my readers.”

This really resonated with me given my thinking around blogging. So, I’m going to adopt it too. To help break down some barriers for myself in communicating around my experiences and views of the world.

What will I blog about, exactly? I’m not entirely sure. It’s been a while, and I’m a different person (in more ways than one!) than I was last time I was writing regularly.

But, I do feel a (positive) obligation to ‘pay it forward’ for all the folx who have shared their trans experiences that have helped me navigate in my own journey. So, I expect that’ll be part of the story.

But beyond the trans themes, to simply reconnect with the world by sharing my thoughts on events and topics that are of interest to me. Music, politics, media culture, good films, technology, sustainability, the climate crisis, mountain biking… maybe even a boutique beer or whisky review!?! All the things I love and make me tick.

So, this is the place. And this is the obligatory ‘first post!’ The first step. Nothing ground-breaking or revelatory. But a start…

Looking forward to joining you on the journey.

--

--

Grace Notes

Meanderings on life, citizenship, sustainability, the digital world, music, and living a meaningful life…