Overcome Your Study Abroad Fears, Gradually

-Practical Steps and Strategies

@GregInternational14
4 min readApr 26, 2018
Angela Compagnone: angelacompagnone.com (Upsplash.com)

Geopolitical Consultant (NATO) |Political Consultant |Freelance Writer |Speaker

Dear college students,

If you get the chance to go overseas (whether it’s for a required or optional study abroad), I strongly recommend it.

In this article, I address: the concerns, doubts and uncertainties, that I initially had before I went, the strategies I used to overcome them and lessons on why it was worthwhile.

Here were some of my concerns

“Will I like it?”

-Our initial feelings may not be accurate, as I ended up living in 4 different countries from 2011–2018.

First, How it Started

My major, Global Studies, with a focus on International Relations, required a study abroad for graduation.

“Oh...crud”, I thought. I didn’t want to do that.

I can’t do that.

I was worried I would not enjoy myself. That I couldn’t handle it.

What if I got lost* in another country?

*Yup, happened more than once!

Another country is like another universe!

Gradual Approach

-A Two Week Trip

Before I went on the required four month study abroad, I went on a two week trip, that the college offered.

I chose the least expensive option, and one I thought would supplement my major and resume as well.

Why?

If I didn’t like being overseas, it would only be for two weeks.

Also, I would be with professors and students, that I already had some rapport with.

I wouldn’t be alone or with strangers!

Worst Case Scenario: If I hated it, I could still change my college major, early on.

Plus, if we got lost, it would be we, not just me. Yup, we got lost, at 11pm at night.

The Result: I enjoyed it, even though it was 40° fahrenheit, each night.

Important Lessons: I would choose a developed country, not a third world country, for my study abroad.

My Major Required it

When I first found out my major (Global Studies: International Relations), required me to go overseas, I didn’t want to go! (Since my study abroad, I have gone more than once overseas to intern and later to live-work in another country). I changed my mind!

However, it is not for everybody, and it’s better to learn that on a short trip, than on a long term commitment.

How to Choose a Trip

It is ultimately up to you, your financial situation, your interests and experience traveling. I am writing this more for those who have never gone overseas before college, like myself. My approach, was to choose a short term trip and long term trip, which correlated to my career interests (political communications-international relations).

I thought this would help me later, if I wanted to apply to a scholarship or job in a related field.

Native Language or New Language?

Also, there is nothing wrong with choosing a country which speaks your native language (I chose the UK ultimately for my study abroad, and I’m glad I did). There will be plenty of challenges of adapting to another country, and for your first long term trip, it’s not a bad idea. Don’t let me stop you if you want more of a challenge, I’m just glad I did it this way.

Language Classes

If you want to study in Chile, its probably a good idea to take Spanish classes your freshman year (assuming you go the next year), to prepare. That being said, if you have a natural talent for language, or want to challenge yourself, there’s nothing wrong with picking up a 3rd language. Especially since in parts of Europe (especially in Brussels, Belgium) a good portion of people speak 3–5 languages. Knowing three will be an impressive resume booster (I wish I knew three myself!).

Spanish Minor

I minored in Spanish in college, as I wasn’t sure where I would go for my study abroad. Spanish helped me in Europe, as it is similar to French and Italian. However, any language is a good language to take. It helps to think about which one is best for you.

Is it Worth the Loans?

In my opinion, yes. That being said, I recommend looking at your study abroad as a long term investment. It may not pay off immediately for an internship, or your ideal job after college. However, there is always the possibility (I wish I had done this), that you can job search while you are on your study abroad trip.

-I did go to networking events while I was overseas. I recommend Eventbrite.com for all professionals, as it works across Europe (from the places I’ve been to).

Having a specific goal (internship, job, or company) that you want to work for, will make the networking easier.  It will also increase one's chances of reaching the goal.

Help During Interviews

School Trips-Study Abroad experience, make great discussion topic for interviews (and the discussion makes the interview easier!). Sometimes the interviewer went to the same country you did, went abroad, or wants to go overseas for a family trip. This makes for a great conversation and makes the interview more relaxed.

Fun

Lastly, it is a fun and incredibly valuable experience to have. Once one “grows up”, depending on where life takes you, college may be the last time it will be easier, to travel overseas. You will also likely make friends and have people to visit the next time you travel. They may be able to offer housing-renting advice when you land an internship or job there later!

~Author’s Social Media and Background~

LinkedIn: Greg Voegtle| Medium Blog: @GregInternational14| Twitter:@GregGlobal14| Speaker Profile: Global Speaking

Bio: Greg is a U.S. Political Consultant (for the 2014 U.S. Elections) and Geopolitical Consultant with experience working for NATO in Europe. He specializes in strategic communications and has worked with International Organizations such as the ICRC.

Do you want him to Write about your Cause, Career, or Speak?

Contact Him Here

--

--

@GregInternational14

I’m a •NATO Geopolitical Consultant •US Political Consultant •Speaker and •Freelance Writer, here to Help You →https://www.linkedin.com/in/gregvoegtle/