Take Useful Notes. Appreciate 4 Zettelkasten Values.

A framework for taking smart notes. From Take Useful Notes.

Edmund Gröpl
1 min readFeb 18, 2023
Zettelkasten Values

When starting to understand Zettelkasten I asked Google to find a “Zettelkasten Manifesto” for me. As I learned from agile projects, you always need a “Manifesto”[2] before to start working.

[2] Ken Schwaber et al., ‘Manifesto for Agile Software Development’, n.d., https://agilemanifesto.org/

After more than 15 minutes of unsuccessful search I remembered an old saying: “If you can’t find it, create it.” So, here is my first draft:

Zettelkasten Values

We are uncovering better ways of notetaking by doing it and helping others do it. Through this work we have come to value:

- Connecting over Collecting

- Flexibility over Structure

- Tags over Folders

- Writing over Copying

That is, while there is value in the items on the right, we value the items on the left more.

Thanks very much! I really appreciate you reading my work. If you enjoyed it and found it useful, you might also like the related book “TAKE USEFUL NOTES. A simple guide to a complex skill by using Sketchnotes, Obsidian and Zettelkasten”. Here’s your free copy

--

--

Edmund Gröpl

Data Scientist and Data Storyteller. Talks about #smartsketchnotes and #datastories. https://linktr.ee/groepl