My Current Journey As A Generasi Gigih Intermediate-Phase Participant (Part 3)

Harits Hammam
3 min readAug 2, 2021

--

This article represents my journey during the 4th week of this program. If you are interested to read from the first part, you can read it in Part 1, or read Part 2.

Introduction

Time flies so fast, four weeks since this Intermediate phase started, I’ve learned so much not only about technical stuff on Frontend Web Development, but also I learned a lot of soft skills and improved myself.

Recently, Generasi Gigih posted the Experience Board of this program that shows our ranks and points that we’ve earned. In this article, I’ll share my feelings about the results in QnA style :D, so let’s jump to it.

Q1: How do you feel about your score so far?

I’m really grateful it matches my expectation (and prediction?). It really makes me be more optimistic to become a better Frontend Web Developer by always be proactive in this program.

Q2: What does the score tell you about yourself?

I think it tells my enthusiasm and also how active I am in the class, even though my score and rank are not in the top 10, but I’m sure it’s pretty accurate.

Q3: Do you think your position will change at the end of the program?

If we’re talking about the numbers, it definitely will, but I’m not really sure whether it’s going up or down since everyone also working their ass off to get to the top. But it doesn’t mean that I’m gonna slack off for next time because I also want to improve my skill so much and get to the upper rank as best as I can.

Q4: Do you believe that you can make it to the next level?

Yes, I do!! I’m really looking forward and try my best to be able to get passed to the next level and gain real-life experience as a Frontend Developer by doing an internship on YABB’s partner.

Q5: What would you like to ask or say for your friends who made it to the top of the board? What do you think has made them succeed and what you can learn from them?

I want to say to my friends from my class: You really deserve it!! I actually nominated one of you for the class recognition and I’m glad that you earned it and you also made it to the upper ranks on the board.

From my perspective and observation, I think what made them succeed besides high-level skill and experience is by always being active in the class, often share knowledge and insights in the Discord channel, and also produce high-quality homework that I knew when they showcased their homework.

What I can learn from them is to invest more of my time to learn as much as I can so that I also can produce high-quality homework like them or maybe better than them hehe.

Q6: Some of your friends might feel sad after seeing their score is low/not as expected. Some even say they feel like they’re in a dark tunnel because they have struggled to keep up with the rest of the class. What will you recommend them to do to finally “see the light again” ?

I’m 100% sure they who got a low score or not as they expected aren’t stupid or anything like that. Maybe they’re busy with their school or work so that they can’t really catch up with the homework or attend the class.

Always be optimistic and chase those who are in the upper ranks by becoming more active in the class, ask more good-quality of questions both in the Slido or by raise-hand in Zoom, always showcase your homework or hands-on if there’s any chance (but remember to also give your friends a chance too). You still have a chance to raise your rank up, and always be optimistic and be hungry!!

Even though if you get a low score or not as you expected, it’s not the end of the world anyway :), it’s just a number. What’s important is to always improve your skill and create a good portfolio or product.

I hope if any of you who read this article ‘till the end will become more motivated to chase your dream and be the best version of yourself. Thank you for reading my article. Cheers.

--

--