My TIIDELab Experience 2.0 (Second Month)

Harriosas
4 min readSep 4, 2021

” If you’re not failing, you’re not learning” -Mr. Kadiri Salami

It’s been two months of TIIDELAB!!!, I have gotten more comfortable and started to build a solid relationships with my colleagues. I have also been able to get a basic understanding of Javascript as well as improve on my communication and listening skills which have helped me.

My very first introduction to javascript programming was on a counter app where I unravelled JavaScript concepts and challenges. It seemed like magic at first but as a journeyed my way into learning, so many things became clearer.

Throughout the month of September, I have been acquiring knowledge from Mr Ibrahim Kehinde (CEO, KSolutions) in Javascript. He kick-started the month by walking us through Software Requirements Specification(SRS) and Functional Requirement Documentation(FRD) and the importance of these two documents in terms of projects documentation. He has taught me the Javascript basics and fundamentals. He taught things such as how to write clean Javascript code, how to write loops, write functions, store in an array, object and in local storage, If/else and switch statements, and how to use string literals, as well as DOM manipulation. I was really fascinated by the very first exercise of writing codes that imitate a typical USSD banking process for airtime, funds transfer and data purchase. Afterwards, he went into functions. In programming, there is a principle called DRY-Don’t Repeat Yourself which was emphasised. So While we were busy ‘console logging’ and alerting JavaScript codes, we also worked on our team projects. My team, posed with creating a Ticket Booking System which we called “TICKET XPRESS”, of which later on we will start implementing and getting started integrating JavaScript and certain functionalities to the static web pages we built and we cannot wait to share it with the world.

To further test our knowledge on JavaScript skills, we were given a coding challenge to carry out which was done in stages .

Fridays bring joy because of the fun games, critical thinking, and problem-solving tasks. I had the privilege during one of our Friday weekly meet-ups to hear from a guest speaker, the founder, Mr Kadir Salami where he spoke about the topic “FOREVER EMPLOYABLE” he spoke to us about the reality checks, foundational basics and how do we become forever employable.

Also, Mr Femi spoke about Core Software Technologies, Technology penetration and emerging trends on how future work is remote. Weekly Friday meet-ups are usually the highlight of each week at TIIDELab. Each week I am constantly mentored by Mr Shamsudeen Aderoju and Mr Pishikeni Tukura. This month in particular I was trained on Ethical decision making, Decision making traps and biases, Design thinking and the importance of knowing your Personality as well as your team members’ personalities.

We had a guest speaker, Mr Albert Kure, on our INTERNATIONAL YOUTHS DAY who spoke about transforming food systems through technology and innovation in Africa.

Another month in TIIDELab and I can say yet again that I have grown a lot compared to the month before. I will keep saying THANK TIIDELAB for creating such an opportunity for us . Also, special appreciation to Ms Celeste Micheal, and Mr Kenny for making the extra time to teach my team and me, to ensure we are on top of our lessons and project.

In case you missed my first-month article please click here My TIIDELab Experience 1.0(First Month)

I would love to connect with you, Below are my social media links

LinkedIn: http://linkedin.com/in/harrietosarumen252691134

Twitter: https://twitter.com/goodiegalharri

Portfolio: http://osarumen-harriet.netlify.app/

--

--