How can I check where my money is going?

How I Track My Finances

how to track expenses in Google Sheets

Hazel Paradise
3 min readJan 18, 2024
Photo by rupixen.com on Unsplash

If you want to become rich then start tracking your finances.

We all want to make money. That’s why we are always searching “How to make money online”.

No problem with that. You’ll figure it out pretty soon.

But your journey doesn’t end here.

Suppose you make $10k per month. And spend $6k per month then you are at a great loss.

So what’s the solution?

Just track your finances! You can use a plain sheet of paper to do so. But here I am giving an example of a spreadsheet that I use myself.

Why I Started Budgeting and You Should Too

My Ultimate Budget Tracker

Tab 1: Start Here

I have different income sources (Self-publishing, Gumroad, Fiverr, Music store, and so on) and I bet you too have multiple passive income streams. I needed a column to track my bills like electricity, water, gas, and so on. I have made a debt column in case you need one. Then a subscription is a must.

Screenshot by author

Tab 2:Monthly Budget Spreadsheet

There is a second tab that tracks all of my transactions in one place. Numbers are not easy to track. So I have some graphs to have a unique insight into my current financial conditions.

Screenshot by author

Tab 3:Subscription Tracker

How can I forget about the subscription tab? I have many subscriptions and this sheet helps me to track all my subscriptions in one place.

The sheet automatically calculates the total monthly expenses and how much a subscription costs in that year.

screenshot by author

Tab 4:Transactions

If you need insights into how your expenses look then this sheet works best. It shows how much I have spent on each category. Graphs make it easy to understand.

screenshot by author

Conclusion

I was thinking of adding more sheets to this template but I guess it contains everything that we need. It also has a Budget feature where you can allocate a budget for each category.

If you are interested then this is a link to the sheet — Ultimate Budget Tracker.

This is all for now. Stop spending. Start saving!

See you soon!

Join my newsletter — Wealth Creation for Writers

Related Articles -

Small Side Hustle Matters A Lot

--

--

Hazel Paradise

Top Writer On Medium. Writer of 90+ books under multiple pen names. Yes, I make money writing ebooks.