What Types of Products You Can Sell on Gumroad

I have made $1500+ selling ebooks

Hazel Paradise
8 min readFeb 12, 2024

Platforms such as Etsy and Amazon are now swamped with sellers, so it can be difficult to get your products seen.

Gumroad is far less saturated, which means that you have a bigger chance of selling your Gumroad products.

When I started my first Gumroad account I wasn’t sure what to sell. Everyone was selling Brushes and software. Those are some famous digital products on Gumroad.

But we all don’t want that right?

I was looking for ebooks only. Because that’s the only thing I know. I had a few non-fiction books I published on Amazon KDP. I picked one book, edited it, and published it on Gumroad.

After that things began to change.

My first sale on Gumroad

My first sale surprised me. It was $2.99. But I was surprised that the sale wasn’t from Amazon KDP!

screenshot by author

WHAT ACTUALLY IS GUMROAD?

To put it simply, Gumroad is a website where you can both sell or buy items. The e-commerce platform is great for small creators who want to sell their products and services but don’t have a budget to set up their store.

I can simply say that Gumroad gave me the ability to sell my own products (ebooks and Google Sheets at this moment. Check out my Google sheets here), set up important landing pages, and help convert my visitors into real paying customers.

Creating a Gumroad business has finally made me an independent creator. I am not restricted to selling only one type of product. I can sell a wide variety of products on my own terms.

Some Gumroad creators — Writers, designers, musicians, artists etc.

Do you love to create like me? Then Gumroad is the right answer for you.

One of the most popular product types that content creators sell on Gumroad are downloadable digital products, like:

  • Checklist
  • Template
  • Calendar
  • Curated lists
  • Case studies
  • How-to guides and tutorials
  • Designs
  • Media files
  • Apps
  • Software
  • Podcast

and many more!

screenshot by author

If you are interested in Gumroad Business then you can check out my ebook — Build Once, Sell Forever — How I Create & Sell Digital Products With Gumroad

High-Profit Products to Sell On Gumroad

I mostly stick to ebooks and Google Sheets. But that doesn’t mean you are limited to these two only. There are many types of digital products you can sell on Gumroad. Choose the one you love creating. Or experiment with all types of digital products.

After all, you are an independent creator!

Remember that there are many types of products that you can sell. In short all types of digital products are acceptable on Gumroad (make sure you know what not to sell).

eBooks

90% of my Gumroad income is from ebooks.

Because of my ebooks, the Gumroad business has become one of my income sources as well.

I find ebooks to be the best option for anyone who wants to start selling on Gumroad and make passive income from it. I mostly stick to non-fiction. In case you want to sell your fiction books then Gumroad is the best place for you.

Gumroad Review (2024): How I Make Money Selling Ebooks

Templates

Apart from ebooks, i sell Google Sheet templates too. I use Spreadsheets in my working routines and decided to share with my audience. I get only few sales but its worth it. You can find google sheets templates here.

You can sell anytype of templates. few examples are here —

  1. Google sheets
  2. excel
  3. Canva
  4. Notion
  5. WordPress theme
  6. Social media templates

Lot of option but I could only remember these for now.

Music

I don’t know if there is a platform where small musicians can sell their music in digital form. Most of them take a maximum amount of profit. But here Gumroad is a better option.

Not only digital products but you can also sell physical products like CDs or vinyl on Gumroad. If you are really into music then selling music-based custom products like T-shirts and totes helps music a lot!

At last, a way to pay for their hard work!

Monthly Subscriptions/Memberships

Gumroad allows you to start a membership business or subscription-based business. This works well in case you don’t have time to create another product but want to send small pieces of your work to your audience. A small monthly fee is the best option.

Creating a community always means more money. the secret is out now. We all know how much subscription and membership businesses are growing. A subscription or membership is great for receiving recurring payments too. Unlike a one-time purchase, a customer will join a monthly subscription which means paying per month.

I still don’t have a membership option yet on my site. but never say never. Maybe in the near future, I would. Need to try it out. What else do I have to lose?

In the end, it will feel like you are getting paid each month for your hard work.

Medium & Gumroad Means Money

Online Course

This is one of the most popular options out there. You have a niche. You have knowledge. Turn your knowledge into a course. the course doesn’t have to be long. Start small!

I love to take classes from the comfort of my own home or on the go. Physical classes are good too. But for that you need time. People who have full-time jobs find it hard to do. I find selling digital products or selling an online course through Gumroad is a great way to pass on my knowledge.

You don’t have to do it all at once. You can either do a one-off course or plan a series of classes. And the great thing about an online course is that the topics are endless: social media, a skill, marketing, music, etc.

Podcast/Audio

I love Podcast.

I love YouTube too but for that, you need to pay attention to the screen. I love how audiobooks and podcasts can be listened to while driving a car, doing my laundry, or sitting in my backyard watching Squirrels.

Now to this date, over 400 million Americans listen to podcasts. That’s a lot of audience out there for you.

Listening to your favourite content is really easy to consume in my view. Let your audience go about their day while listening to your podcast. rather than having them stop and partake in something — like watching TV.

Design Tools

Brushes are really famous on Gumroad. I have seen tons of creators making full-time income selling custom brushes. I don’t know what brushed actually means but the full-time income thing really caught my eye.

There are many people out there who do not have the knowledge or time to create digital products and design tools. Fortunately, you can do it for them.

If you enjoy creating digital art or digital product ideas then you can sell your own design tools for others to use. This can include digital paint brushes, preset bundles, icons, or even artwork to use — among so much more.

This can also be sold along with something like templates too (see above).

PHYSICAL CLOTHING

I mostly use Gumroad to sell my digital products. later I found that you can sell physical products too.

I see only a few examples of creators who are selling their own clothing line on Gumroad. I think this is a great idea. If you have a large audience and think your audience will buy physical products from you then you should go for this. Success or failure is another thing. But why not try it and see? What’s there to lose?

Screenshot by author

Gumroad isn’t just a digital e-shop, you can also sell physical goods too. If you are looking to create your own clothing line, then Gumroad is a great place to start your fashion business.

Do you like selling T-shirts? Or maybe a full line of clothing? Use your social media and just direct all your traffic to your Gumroad store.

I have built many e-commerce websites in the past. Shopify, Magento, Presta shop, etc. I know it’s hard to set up and maintain these websites. It’s time-consuming and costly as well.

So better to use already available tools that are available to you with no fee barrier. A least we can give it a try, right?

Whether it is a collection of T-shirts or a full line of athleisure, you can make Gumroad the place to direct people off your social media accounts. It takes away the time and effort of building an e-commerce store from the ground up.

Gumroad also can help you to keep stock of inventory, as well as build a community for your brand.

Physical product selling on Gumroad:

I am giving you few more examples of the Physical products you can sell on Gumroad. Again you are not limited to selling only these. You can experiment as much as you want. Just follow Gumroad guidelines!

1. Fitness equipment:

Custom-made yoga pants, resistance bands, sports t-shirts, etc.

2. Print books:

Authors can offer their books for sale in hard copy online. Additionally, artists can sell their art books, such as mandala books.

3. Clothing:

You can sell clothing that you’ve developed, custom-made items, and graphic tees.

4. Physical artwork:

Artists who have created paintings and sketches in response to bespoke orders or for other reasons may sell them.

5. Jewellery:

You can sell the jewelry you manufacture, such as clay earrings, pearls, jewelry with metal art, and so forth.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I have been using Gumroad for 2 years now.

I have three Gumroad stores now

Crossed $1000 in profits on one of my stores.

I sell ebooks, templates, and software for now.

I would recommend to start selling simple checklists or ebooks for free. Test and mix different types of digital products.

There are no rules that you have to stick to one type of product. Mix and see what works well with your audience. Keep an eye on your sales record. Your sales report knows everything!

If you are interested in Gumroad Business then you can check out my ebook — Build Once, Sell Forever — How I Create & Sell Digital Products With Gumroad

--

--

Hazel Paradise

Top Writer On Medium. Writer of 90+ books under multiple pen names. Yes, I make money writing ebooks.