I Asked How We Jews Can Unite Against Antisemitism…

The answers were depressing

Jill
4 min readFeb 12, 2024

Last week, I inquired as to how we can improve our PR to outsiders. This is an important question given that the anti-Israel side, which has proliferated in the last 4 months, has recruited a ton of non-Muslims who view themselves as “activists.” While I did receive thoughtful responses from many of my wonderful readers,* the majority of the suggestions fell into the following categories:

  • We need to speak out against Marxist wokeism on college campuses.
  • We need to embrace MAGA and vote for Trump.
  • We need to voice less support for Israel.
  • Antisemitism will always be there, so there’s nothing we can do.

None of these answers really address the core of what I am asking. Since the only thing one can control is oneself, and we are a tiny, tiny minority currently experiencing profound amounts of hate…what can we do constructively to combat these malicious forces?

While I posed the above questions to Jews only, I expected the typical nonsense from common antisemites to appear in my comments section. They never disappoint. Since I do not believe in censorship, I didn’t remove them. Here is one such comment:

--

--

Jill

I write about Jews and higher education--sometimes both at the same time.