I Paused, Reevaluate, and Appreciate

Taking a Step Back to Move Forward

Ina Exmundo
2 min readMar 24, 2023
Photo by Eliobed Suarez on Unsplash

Today, we are just living in a world where we need to earn money to pay for everything and people just want to be productive and work harder that we forget to live the life we wanted to be. During those late years in my career, I have always chosen where I would want to work and leave if I needed to leave.

For me, The world is like an open book wherein there are a lot of opportunities for everyone that settling on a company or a job where I can no longer see my worth, growth and improvement is no longer negotiable.

I’m a “New is always better” — type of person so I always get excited about exploring and taking risks in my career.

Doing something different outside my specialty and going beyond my limit. These actions are not easy to do at all, It took me a lot of years to realize that YES! It is okay to shift, to change, to say no, or leave.

Most of the time we keep on holding onto a job, a thing, a routine, a habit, or even a relationship we already knew that isn’t giving us any purpose or making us a better person.

It also took me a lot of heartbreak, tears, and courage to realize that I have to let go of these things, relationships, and situations that no longer give me value or worth and that letting go means you are ready to have something greater and better.

“We don’t get what we deserve but we get what we believe we deserve.”

by Don Cooper

This mindset that I have brought me to this God-given relationship that I wouldn’t ask for more, a Career that I’m passionate about, and a discovered personality that gives me value and self-worth.

My internal pills for becoming the best version of myself are the mistakes I did, failures, bad experiences, and rejections.

I remember a part in the book Option B by Sheryl Sandberg that says:

“It comes from gratitude for what’s good in our lives and learning about the suck. Things will happen and we all have to face them.

I learned that when life pulls you under, you can kick against the bottom, break the surface, and breathe again.”

No one can put these against you if you own and embrace them. Acceptance will only make you stronger, more confident, and more competent to face whatever life may bring.

Latest Article: Going Outside the Box

Did you enjoy reading my article? I’d love to hear your feedback.

Fuel my creativity with a cup of coffee. Buy me a Coffee and let’s make something amazing together!

--

--

Ina Exmundo

Writing to Inspire! An Architect by Profession | Top 5% Freelancer | Entrepreneur | Investor | Canada based www.buymeacoffee.com/inaexmundo