The More You Get, The More You Want

How much is Enough?

Ina Exmundo
3 min readApr 27, 2023
Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

As humans, we are wired to always want more.

More success, more money, more possessions, more experiences, more love, more attention, more happiness, and the list goes on.

We strive for more because we believe it will bring us satisfaction and fulfillment. However, the truth is that the more we get, the more we want, and this insatiable desire for more can become a disease that can take over our lives.

I can attest to this from personal experience.

When I was in my early twenties, I had a modest income and was content with my simple lifestyle. But as I started to climb the corporate ladder, my income increased, and with it came a desire for more.

I started buying nicer clothes, expensive gadgets, and fancier vacations. I convinced myself that I deserved these things because I had worked hard and earned them.

But the more I got, the more I wanted.

I became obsessed with material possessions, and my happiness became tied to them. I found myself constantly checking my bank account to see if I had enough money to buy something new.

My focus became on accumulating more things, and I lost sight of what truly mattered in life.

I didn’t fully appreciate how much control the disease of more had over my life until I reached a breaking point. I was concerned, stressed out, and preoccupied with money all the time. I was never content with what I had and constantly desired more.

I had lost touch with my genuine self and had become a slave to my possessions.

So, how much is enough?

It’s a question that we all need to ask ourselves at some point in our lives.

For me, having a comfortable home to live in, food on the table, genuine time with my loving husband and a few close friends that make me happy is enough. It’s about learning to be content with the little things and staying away from the consumerist culture that permeates our society.

The Disease of More

This is not just limited to material possessions.
Our need for more achievement, attention, and experiences might also be a sign of it. We become dependent on a sense of accomplishment and admiration and cannot live without them.

We always push ourselves to achieve more, yet we forget that true happiness comes from within, not from getting approval from others.

It’s important to keep in mind that when we get more, we tend to desire more, which might result in a never-ending cycle of desire.

We must learn to be grateful for what we have and to be content in the here and now. Instead of concentrating on what is merely important in life, we need to let go of our addiction to achievement and worldly belongings.

The disease of more is a dangerous trap that can consume our lives if we let it. We need to take a step back and evaluate what truly matters to us. We need to learn to find contentment in the present moment and appreciate the simple things in life.

It’s not about how much we have, but about how we live our lives and the relationships we cultivate.

As the old saying goes,

“The best things in life are not things.”

Latest Article: I Am Done Sugarcoating

Did you enjoy reading my article? I’d love to hear your feedback.

Fuel my creativity with a cup of coffee. Buy me a Coffee and let’s make something amazing together!

--

--

Ina Exmundo

Writing to Inspire! An Architect by Profession | Top 5% Freelancer | Entrepreneur | Investor | Canada based www.buymeacoffee.com/inaexmundo