I Am Done Sugarcoating

Ina Exmundo
3 min readApr 24, 2023

--

Photo by Fredrik Ivansson on Unsplash

We live in a society that often values politeness over honesty.

We’re taught from a young age to be nice, to not hurt other people’s feelings, and to always put on a smile.

While these are certainly important qualities to have, they can also lead to a culture of sugarcoating, where we avoid telling the truth for fear of causing discomfort or conflict.

For many years, I was guilty of sugarcoating things myself. I was terrified of confrontation and didn’t want to offend anyone, I often kept my genuine thoughts and sentiments hidden. But, with time, I realized that sugarcoating was causing more harm than good.

By avoiding honest communication, I was actually preventing myself and those around me from growing and improving. Instead of addressing issues head-on, I was letting them fester and grow into bigger problems. And by not speaking my mind, I was denying myself the opportunity to be fully authentic and true to myself.

Honesty is the best policy

This may sound cliché, but it’s true.
Being honest with yourself and others is the only way to build trust and establish healthy relationships. While it may be uncomfortable to have difficult conversations or express unpopular opinions, it’s ultimately better than pretending everything is okay when it’s not.

It’s okay to be vulnerable

One of the reasons we sugarcoat things is that we’re afraid of being vulnerable. We worry that if we express our true feelings, we’ll be judged or rejected. But the truth is that vulnerability is a strength, not a weakness. When we allow ourselves to be vulnerable, we open up the possibility for deeper connections and more meaningful relationships.

Not everyone will like you, and that’s okay

We also sugarcoat things because we want to be liked. We are afraid that if we voice our opinions, we will irritate people and they will no longer want to be around us. But, in reality, not everyone will like us, and that’s fine. Being true to ourselves and our principles is more essential than trying to impress everyone else.

Standing up for yourself is empowering.

“Here’s the truth: It’s okay if the desire to be liked by everyone drives you, as long as you’re honest about it. It’s okay if you’re not willing to be fake to impress people you don’t really like. As long as you know that’s who you are and you’re not going to whine and complain about how people are keeping you down or ruining your life.”

Mark Manson, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck

When we stop sugarcoating things, we increase our chances of standing up for ourselves and our convictions. This can be liberating and empowering since we no longer have to conceal or pretend to be someone we are not.

When we are true to ourselves, we can face any problem with confidence.

By being honest and authentic, we can build deeper connections with those around us, establish healthy relationships, and feel more empowered to take on life’s challenges.

So let’s stop pretending and start being true to ourselves.

Latest Article: The Two Biggest Mistakes in Life

Did you enjoy reading my article? I’d love to hear your feedback.

Fuel my creativity with a cup of coffee. Buy me a Coffee and let’s make something amazing together!

--

--

Ina Exmundo

Writing to Inspire! An Architect by Profession | Top 5% Freelancer | Entrepreneur | Investor | Canada based www.buymeacoffee.com/inaexmundo