The Two Biggest Mistakes in Life

Ina Exmundo
3 min readApr 22, 2023

--

Photo by Beniamin Şinca on Unsplash

Life is full of twists and turns, and it’s all too easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of everyday life. In our quest to fit in and succeed, we often make mistakes that hold us back from achieving our goals and living our best lives.

There are two mistakes that I’ve noticed consistently hold people back from living their best lives: worrying too much about what others think about them and believing that others are thinking about them.

As someone who has struggled with both of these mistakes in the past, I know firsthand how much stress and anxiety they can cause.

For many years, I would obsess over the opinions of others, constantly trying to mold myself into what I thought they wanted me to be. I would analyze every interaction, every word, and every action, searching for some hidden meaning or judgment.

This obsession caused me to lose touch with my own values and desires, and I found myself feeling lost and unfulfilled.

It wasn’t until I learned to let go of my need for external validation that I truly started to thrive.

Here’s what I learned about the two biggest mistakes in life and how I overcame them:

Mistake #1: Worrying about What Others Think About You

Worrying too much about what others think about you can be a major hindrance to personal growth and happiness.

It can cause you to doubt yourself, second-guess your decisions, and live in a constant state of fear and anxiety. I used to be so consumed by the opinions of others that I would change my behavior, my appearance, and even my beliefs in order to fit in and gain approval.

But the truth is, no matter how hard you try, you can never please everyone.

There will always be people who don’t like you, don’t agree with you, or don’t understand you. It’s impossible to control what others think about you, and trying to do so will only lead to disappointment and frustration.

What I’ve learned is that the only person whose opinion truly matters is your own. Identify your own values and beliefs, and live your life in accordance with them. Don’t be afraid to express your opinions or pursue your passions, even if they go against the norm. When you’re true to yourself, you attract the right people and opportunities into your life.

Mistake #2: Believing That Others Think About You

Believing that others are thinking about you is another mistake that can cause unnecessary stress and anxiety.

I used to spend hours analyzing the words and actions of others, trying to decipher what they thought about me. I assumed that every glance, every comment, and every interaction was a reflection of my worth and likability.

Most people, however, are actually too preoccupied with thinking about themselves to pay much care to others.

They may not even notice or remember the things you worry about. The stories we tell ourselves about what others think of us are often just that — stories. They’re not based on reality and can cause us to create negative narratives about ourselves that aren’t true.

What I’ve learned is that it’s important to focus on your own thoughts and actions. Be mindful of how you treat others, and strive to be kind, compassionate, and respectful. When you’re confident in who you are, you’re less likely to worry about what others may or may not be thinking. Instead of assuming that others are thinking about you, focus on being present at the moment and enjoying your own experiences.

Worrying too much about what others think about you and believing that others are thinking about you are two of the biggest mistakes you can make in life. They can cause you to lose touch with your own values and desires and hold you back from achieving your goals. But the good news is that you have the power to overcome these mistakes.

By focusing on your own thoughts and actions, being true to yourself, and letting go of your need for external validation, you can live a more fulfilling and authentic life.

Latest Article: Don’t Underestimate Quitters

Did you enjoy reading my article? I’d love to hear your feedback.

Fuel my creativity with a cup of coffee. Buy me a Coffee and let’s make something amazing together!

--

--

Ina Exmundo

Writing to Inspire! An Architect by Profession | Top 5% Freelancer | Entrepreneur | Investor | Canada based www.buymeacoffee.com/inaexmundo