3 ways to give someone feedback

Iuri Matsuura
4 min readOct 3, 2017

"What was the last feedback you received from your manager?"

That's one of the questions I use to ask candidates during a job interview. It gives me a glimpse of the environment that person comes from, his level of self-awareness and a short assessment of his personality.

Usually I get different sorts of reply and mostly we end up having nice conversations. However, more often than not, I hear answers like "My manager never gave me feedback". Such statements surprises me as I wonder why that happens:

Maybe his manager doesn't trust him?

Perhaps the organization doesn't support a feedback culture?

Or his manager just doesn’t know how to give feedback?

Assumptions are many and I would like to take the last one as a common reality. In fact many individuals step into a management position without a proper training or fundamental knowledge about such area. Whether you are a manager or not, here are 3 feedback techniques you could start to use right now:

X-Y-Z statements

This simple technique can be applied for positive as well as negative feedbacks. When giving the feedback, you should basically split your statements into 3 parts:

  1. X (Behavior)

--

--

Iuri Matsuura

Passionate about Technology, People and Ideas. Director of Engineering @Invoice2go.