Junk Phrases In Your Emails_1

Ivanka Tabachuk
5 min readDec 31, 2019

--

One of the first and really effective baby steps to writing readable and “alive” emails, is to avoid phrases that don’t win your email anything, just add needless characters, turning your email into “tldr”.

Be on-trend

Many of my customers especially those working in IT, wish to be on-trend in everything in the fast-changing environment they live and work. And usually are, except for emails, where old-school traditions are rooted diehard. And it is not that they do not try to change their habits. No, they try hard but keep constantly making the same mistakes and generating email bugs.

Hardly the only but one of the first and really effective baby steps to writing readable and “alive” emails, is to avoid phrases that don’t win your email anything, just add needless characters, turning your email into “tldr”

So, here are some of the most frequently used “junk” email phrases:

  1. “I’m writing to…”

Of course, you are writing. This is an email, Captain Obvious. Where is the good of writing the obvious? Why not cut it to the chase and not write everything you want to say straight to the point? A sure thing, there are many situations and contexts which require, pleasantries, niceties and some kind of a social opening. But immediately after them, there is no use to “waffle on …”

I know, I know, when you need to inform a client about the team’s fuck up or a subordinate that they have to put off their summer vacation or an email to a kind-of-a-big-boss, you can’t help but start from afar — “I have a question to ask …”, “I want to inform you…”, or “I am writing to …”. Besides, it seems so polite and respectful!

But if you come to think of it, it just consumes valuable email space, squandering characters and side-tracking reader’s focus.

But how to start an email then?

Ask yourself — what is my objective? If you want to ask something, formulate your introduction in the form of a question. Not “I would like to know when you are available on Monday”, but “When are you available on Monday?” If your goal is to reply to a question and provide some information, then reply or give it without a preface. Get right to the point!

State your ideas up front.

2. "I’m afraid…"

A common misconception about “I’m afraid” is that it smoothes and softens the negative message or news which usually follow it. For example, you can come across "m afraid" in such sentences as

"I’m afraid, we have chosen another candidate for the job,"

or

"I’m afraid, the task is done not at the level I’ve expected."

But “I’m afraid” doesn’t mitigate the negative message, just worsens it. After reading the first three words, a person guesses what comes next, assumes the result and gets upset before finishing reading. The expectation of death is worse than death itself.

Far better to inform, ask, or provide facts straightforwardly. Write simply

“We have chosen another candidate”

or

“The task is not at the level I would have expected.”

As practice shows, the bare facts without embellished and stuffy emotions are perceived less personally and negatively and work towards a more objective discussion of the situation.

3. "Unfortunately"

Yet how to write politely, keeping the right distance, whilst not being too formal? The answer is simple. Formulate positively. For example, let’s take “unfortunately.” It is used when a person feels sorry or wants to apologise.

“Unfortunately, we need to reschedule the meeting.”

“Unfortunately, I will not be able to attend.”

Both sentences have a negative meaning. Why not to write something more constructive instead? For instance:

“I’ll need to change the timing of our meeting. If 2 p.m. works for you, that would be great for me as well. ”

“ I’m grateful that you invited me. I’ll be in Berlin that week but would love to meet another time. ”

2. "I hope"

No less misused in emails is “I hope”. “Hope” itself is definitely a good thing:), but when you write: “I hope we’ll meet our target,” you sound passive (even passive-aggressive). Here “I hope” hints at your uncertainty and irresponsibility.

Besides, it looks like you are trying to excuse yourself or protect as if you are being accused of something. Why not phrase, “I really want us to meet our target, and I know we can get there”?

Reader focus.

4. "I don’t know"

It appears that “I don’t know” is a favourite phrase of not students alone. But to say or write “I don’t know” is never a way out or an option. Never and by no means! It is at least unprofessional, and at most, it will cost you the trust of a client, colleague or partner. Ready to take risks? I think not. So forget this phrase and write something like:

  • I don’t have enough information to answer your question.
  • I don’t have the information I need to give an answer. But I’ll find it.
  • I don’t have the data at hand, but I’ll get it to you later today.
  • Good question. I’ll find out.
  • Based on what we know today, my thoughts are…

Sometimes depending on the context

  • Let’s have a quick brainstorm.
  • I know an expert who can help with this.

might work as well.

5. "If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me"

It remains a mystery to me why so many people still close an email with this phrase.

Perhaps, again, they really think it helps sound more polite. Well, if your email was written in a cold, pretentious tone, then this phrase at the end will not save the situation. And the truth is that it sounds awfully hoary, and points not at good manners, but at the author’s insecurity. When I read “If you have any questions, please hesitate to contact me,” I immediately think, what questions may I have? And why should I have questions? Maybe it is not enough information here? Or the author doesn’t know and wants to clarify with additional questions from me?

If you write with your reader in mind, then you will describe the situation as clearly as possible and anticipate any potential questions.

So close your emails with something more positive. For example,

  • "I suggest we proceed with the project."
  • "Let us discuss the details at the meeting."
  • "I’ll look forward to your agreement."
  • "I’ll set up the schedule for our work together."

These closing sentences will help you create the image of a confident professional who can be trusted, and whose recommendations are worth following.

Of course, this list is far from exhaustive, but good for the start in your journey to conscious and mindful emails.

Read this article in Ukrainian on UPPR.com.ua

--

--