Of Mountains and Men

A story of solitude, vulnerability, renewal, and two very funny goats.

Jared Yarnall-Schane
5 min readMay 7, 2016

“It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves.” - Sir Edmund Hillary

When I was in high school, I had a strange obsession with reading books about hermits. I was fascinated by the courage and strength these men displayed by leaving society and embracing the unknown of remote wilderness. My friends joked that if I wasn’t careful I would come back for our 10 year reunion with a full beard and a weathered face - that my destiny was to wander into the wilderness and become a recluse.

In a way, they were right.

Hermit: one that retires from society and lives in solitude especially for religious reasons.

I have no intention of retiring from society, there are too many things to do and people to meet in this world. However, I have experienced firsthand the power of solitude, especially as it relates to personal and spiritual growth. Throughout my life I have made difficult decisions while reflecting and meditating outdoors in the wilderness. Seclusion in nature has and always will be my form of therapy.

The sheer power of nature opens up a pathway to deal with internal conflict. Solitude lets you walk that path.

I few months ago I decided I needed to embrace that solitude. I moved into the middle of the Swiss Alps and let nature take control. Some things that happened:

  • I stood screaming up to the mountains, tears of frustration running down my face.
  • I questioned everything about who I am and who I hope to become.
  • I received a stark reminder about just how insignificant we humans are.
  • My mind was cleansed, and my spirit was given the chance to soar on new wings.
Mountainside reflections in the Swiss Alps

Solitude forced me to reflect on the internal conflicts running around in my head. The mountains brought them forward and into perspective.

I have always appreciated nature, however living in the Alps changed that appreciation into a need. I NEED nature. Its an addiction. I need to see the green leaves of a tree. I need to feel the chill of snow running down my back. I need to hear the buzz of a bee as it collects pollen from a flower. I need to be forced to question my place on this Earth, and be amazed that I am part of this nature.

Realizing and accepting that need was a key turning point in my questions and struggles. I realized that the things I really need are not man made and cannot be found in other humans.

The bold, beautiful mountains made me question my existence. In the process, they exposed some of the inner most parts of my mind and gave me the courage to face them head on.

High in the Swiss Alps overlooking Interlaken.

Embracing solitude and nature is extremely important. However sometimes you need a guide to keep you on that path. I am so happy that my friends Vera, Bruno, and Florian were there to support me through these wanderings.

Two of those friends were goats.

My friends were gracious hosts in Switzerland. Vera lives in a beautiful farmhouse in Interlaken, and I had a cozy room upstairs with bare wood floors and an ancient wood stove. The farmhouse is located on a small organic field, right next to one of the most expensive hotels in the world. I would recommend staying in the farmhouse to anyone.

During this time of solitude and self reflection, Vera was there to quietly give suggestions and support. She is the personification of mountains - bold, mysterious, wild. Her guidance was critical to understanding what I was thinking and feeling. Most importantly, she continued to push and encourage me to continue exploring the world and my inner self, and showed me that you can have fun while doing it!

Bruno and Florian gave me structure in the day. Their needs were simple - Feed them in the morning. Clean up their poop. Pretend you are a goat and play with them. This structure was key in breaking bad habits and forming good ones in their place. It is humbling to be beholden to the will of animals, and my goat friends gave me many great lessons in patience and humility.

Florian and Bruno enjoyed the warm fire too!

This is not the first time, and I know it will not be the last time, I venture into solitude. Its an important part of who I am, and these experiences leave profound impacts on my psyche and personality.

To the mountains, I say thank for sharing your wisdom and strength.

For most people, including myself, it is not possible or desired to fully live as a hermit. However I challenge everyone to embrace solitude a bit more. Try spending at least 30 minutes outside per day, without any electronics, music, or book. Spend 30 minutes wandering in wonder. Listen to the birds sing and memorize their song. Watch the leaves blow in the wind, and question where the wind is coming from.

There is an abundance of research that shows the importance of surrounding yourself with nature. National Geographic recently ran an article explaining how after 3 days of living in nature, people see a 50% increase in creative thinking. Attention Restoration Theory claims that people concentrate better after spending time in nature. Even more important are the countless health benefits of being surrounded by the great outdoors.

Learning how to embrace solitude is hard, but the rewards are an increased awareness of yourself and the world around you.

Henry David Thoreau, my favorite hermit, says is best:

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

Jared is a social entrepreneur that works with millennials to launch businesses that matter.

If you received some value from this, RECOMMEND this post so others can see it too.

--

--

Jared Yarnall-Schane

www.jarnall.com | Social entrepreneur that facilitates connection and creates opportunities to unleash human potential. Program Director of Thought For Food.