Risky Business

Jason Glynn
Writer’s Juice
Published in
7 min readJul 6, 2022

--

Dear reader,

I recently published an article about time management, or to be more precise, how it is not possible to manage time (HINT: you must manage your priorities instead).

You see, one thing I didn’t muse upon in that article was the role that risk plays in the mastery of our priorities. In fact, the thought only occurred to me as I was browsing Medium recently and came across an interesting article written by Laurence.

Similar to my own web3 freelancer backstory, Laurence is on a journey to creative independence and is looking to monetise his passion for writing. After some careful thought, he’s decided to build a website to showcase his work. He considers this a risk, but along with that risk come countless other opportunities. I’m sure he’ll do fine.

The article prompted me to think about my own risk. What risks have I taken? Have I taken enough risk? What is my appetite for risk? After some thought it became clear to me that managing risk is something you have control over, just as you do with your priorities and where you direct your attention in the limited time you’ve been gifted on this planet. In my previous post I spoke about investing in yourself in order to leverage your quality output, reduce your quantity output and gain more time for yourself. Well adding a measure of risk can amplify this procedure.

--

--

Jason Glynn
Writer’s Juice

Freelance Tech Writer. I write case studies and deep dives on Crypto, Web3 & Emerging Tech. Portfolio: jasonglynn.carrd.co Newsletter: jasonglynn.substack.com