What Decisions Have You Made About Yourself?

Are They Really True?

Jeff Barton

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

“A self is not something static, tied up in a pretty parcel and handed to the child, finished and complete. A self is always becoming.”

― Madeleine L’Engle

I grew up in Indiana, and basketball was a way of life for me. I used to play in the dead of winter with snow on the ground, in the middle of summer when the temperatures were in the high 90’s with 95% humidity, and every scenario in between. It was something I loved whether I was playing solo or at a pickup game at the local pool. While I’m sure my parents grew tired of the constant pounding of the ball on the concrete, it was music to my ears.

I watched basketball on television constantly and it didn’t matter if it was the NBA or college. If it was on, I was watching it. I lived and breathed basketball.

I was lucky enough to play organized sports growing up including basketball, football, and baseball. And while I loved the other sports, basketball was what I wanted to pursue most. Even though I wasn’t blowing up the height charts, I could hold my own on the court. I had always made the “A” team when trying out for the various sports and was a regular starter.

--

--

Jeff Barton

Dad, trail/ultra runner, orophile & aspiring recluse. I write about life, mental health, and running. Starting life over. Creator of Runner’s Life.