The Skeptic’s Whole30: Day 29

Jenny Epel Muller
2 min readFeb 8, 2019

--

Monday, March 19, 2018

This post is part of a series. For the previous post, click here. For the whole series, click here.

This morning I had the remaining kugelettes, and lunch was the ahi tuna.

The ahi tuna! I pan seared it in my new “seasoned steel” frying pan, and left the inside RARE as the instructions said, and at the end it looked just like it did in the picture, and it tasted amazing with the mango-tomato-avocado salsa. I felt anxious, though. I had never done this type of recipe before, where the meat is supposed to be rare. It was still chilly on the inside, even though the outside was hot — was that okay? I mean, it tasted okay. It tasted awesome. But the fact that I was making it myself, for the first time, was a real stretch out of my comfort zone.

I even posted on Facebook about how proud I was to have done it, but warned my friends in the same post that I might have to call them if I needed to be rushed to the hospital.

So far, so good. As I write this, it’s 10 pm, after dinner, and I still feel okay.

I let Big Kid and Little Kid play on the playground at Big Kid’s school for a while after we picked up Big Kid from Slime Club. It was after 5 when we headed home, and I managed to get dinner on the table right around 7:45 when my husband walked in the door. I made the North African Chicken again. Big Kid ate it right up, and Little Kid didn’t even come to the table, saying he “didn’t like dinner.” Ah well, he did have a whole apple and slice of French toast earlier in the afternoon.

Plus he told us that he wanted pizza. I guess his pizza strike is over. Maybe four weeks of going without it has rekindled his interest in it. Funny.

One day left!!!!!

Tomorrow: LAST DAY! And a roundup of all the new recipes I tried on the Whole30.

--

--