Meet Ascending’s Launch Team — Rob

Jeremy Evans-Smith
2 min readJul 7, 2020

--

Startup Dreaming, courtesy of Google Images

Hello, hello everyone! 👋🏿

Welcome back to the second installation of Ascending’s Launch Team. It’s been an exciting series of announcements to make (you can read the first one here if you haven’t already.)

As I mentioned in the last announcement, we’ve been working diligently behind the scenes and are so excited to begin sharing some of the first fruits of our labor. Part of that is taking the next two weeks to focus on announcing our Ascending Launch team & foundational partners! You’ll get to see the compelling team of Engineering, Creative, Design & Product folx who are working behind-the-scenes to help make the magic that is Ascending.

With that, we’re thrilled to take today and highlight our CTO, Rob Hartsock! Keep reading to get a quick highlight on who he is, where he’s coming from and how to connect with him.

Rob Hartsock — he/him

Where Rob calls Home: Dallas, TX.

Role at Ascending: CTO & Head of Engineering.

In Rob’s own words, why choose to join/ build Ascending? I’ve spent my entire career working in technology, which is largely filled with folx that look just like me: privileged, white males. I want to be a better ally. I want to lift up and amplify Black, LGBTQ+ and other underrepresented voices. I want to take on the struggles as my own and transfer the benefits of my privilege to those who don’t currently have it.

Ascending’s mission to actualize sustained change spoke to me and I can’t think of a better place to work at making meaningful change.

What’s a fun fact or favorite hobby we can share with the people? I’m a competitive Call of Duty gamer who sucks at trash talking my opponents.

How can people connect with you? LinkedIn & Twitter are both great ways to connect.

So that’s our CTO & Head of Engineering, Rob!

We’re very excited to have him on-board and look forward to sharing more stories of the amazing people building the foundation of Ascending.

Cheers 🥂

The Ascending Launch Team

--

--

Jeremy Evans-Smith

Exploring software based solutions to equity diversity and inclusion.