Photo by Maria Oswalt on Unsplash

How I Survived College After Not Graduating On Time

Jesh Orquina

--

This is for the people who didn’t graduate on time and have lost the will to live, but still want to graduate ASAP because they just want to be done with it. This was me in 2016 when I didn’t graduate on time. If you wanna know how I managed to get it together and finally graduate, keep reading.

Understand that you’re probably not gonna be able to pull yourself together. At least not right away.

Let’s start with a little background story: I’ve been struggling with depression since I was 12 and some of my worst years happened when I was in college. As a result, I didn’t really have a great track record. The first semester of my fourth year in college was my last chance to take all the subjects I needed if I wanted to graduate on time. Unfortunately, my depression was really bad and I had to be admitted to the hospital. I was there for two weeks so I had to file a leave of absence for the whole semester. There went my last chance of graduating on time.

I was able to come back for the second semester. I’d accepted that I wouldn’t be graduating on time or at least that’s what I thought. It was difficult seeing my friends working on their theses (or as we called them, Special Problems) and, boy, did I relapse A LOT. I’m not gonna go into more…

--

--

Jesh Orquina

I write about mental health, relationships, and just life in general.