My 1st month in Switzerland🏔️(Part-II)

Jinay Dagli
3 min readJun 23, 2023

--

Welcome back! Hope you have read my first ever blog. If not, you can find it here.

As promised, I wanted to write about a couple of hikes that I went to in the last few weeks. After visiting a lot of cities, we got out of Switzerland to visit this amazingly small, but beautiful country, Liechtenstein (yes, I need to Google the spelling every time😓). Just to get a sense, Liechtenstein has a population of just 40k, and is a monarchy! This was the first time we actually went for a “hike” in Switzerland. The trail goes through the woods. A lot of people come there with bicycles, but I am still wondering how they actually cycled all the way through the narrow roads.

The view kept getting better with the increase in altitude (obv), and I am seriously in love with the houses there🥺.

View From the Top

We even visited a couple of farms at the village at the top. One of the residents was kind enough to offer us freshly processed milk😋.

I have fond memories of the next hike that we did in Andermatt. I feel Andermatt is one of those underrated places in Switzerland. But I would highly recommend the place to anyone who is visiting Switzerland for hikes (summer) and skiing (winter). We were not able to have the skiing experience, but the hike was far more satisfactory! There are a couple of peaks there. The one we reached was the Calmut peak (at an approximate height of 2500m). The Andermatt hike was really, really scary for someone who is just on their second hike ever😢. Many parts of the trail were covered with melting snow, which started melting as soon as you step on it. There were so many instances that I remember, where we felt that we might not be able to get out because the snow layers were so deep. Because of the melting snow, my shoes were filled with water, and I am still not sure how we actually completed the hike😢.

Andermatt (Photo taken at the Calmut post)

The main highlight of the Kandersteg trek was this beautiful lake surrounded by mountains on all sides.

Lake Oeschinen.

It looks even better with the naked eye :)

Let me end the blog here. There’s so much I want to write, but I am just too lazy to do that (ig?).

Anyways, thank you so much for reading!!!

Jinay

--

--