Can an extra click bring a better experience?

Rethinking Swiggy Account and Past Order Flow

Jishnu K O

--

“You mean adding one more click? Oh Noo.. Thats not good Experience. Don’t you know UX is all about no. of clicks?”

“Is it? Well, that I don’t!”

Disclaimer

This is just a personal preference on how I want to experience this flow. Of course, Swiggy would definitely have their own reason for designing it like the current. Consider this as a simple thought 😀.

Let's look into it!

The Current Interaction

Reference
  1. My account details- collapse and open interaction
  2. Past order to its details

What is the problem with it?!

🕵🏽‍♂️ Visibility of the System

This is more of a visibility issue, I felt. Let’s take the current ‘My Account’ page IA for reference. Generally, the Account page is the most underrated page which is not even part of the core flow for any e-commerce application.

In Swiggy App it is part of the tab bar, which contains information like personal details, my account, past orders, and help. But what if I open the account page, and all my account related stuff is collapsed and giving more focus on other pieces of information?

2 main things as a user I am not happy with are

  1. When I open the account, all of my related information (Address, Payment, Favourites, Offers, etc) are hidden
  2. My Past orders are not getting enough focus as it deserves, due to personal details, my account, and help

Even though this is not part of the sanity flow, for someone who has repeat buying behavior (maybe like me 😄) order history and the related flows are an integral part of the purchase.

🤷🏽‍♂️ Maybe Some Tweaking in the IA Would Help My Persona

Let's see an example of how this can be done!

1. My Account

First, let's show the information open and fill the gap between the account tab and my account information. This gives more clarity and visibility for the options. Bonus for those who measure UX based on no. of click — I saved one here🥂.

Another thing I felt redundant is, the App Settings and Update App. Can we merge these two? Let similar items stay together!

This approach will limit the page height saving it from “load more past order action”. Not sure whether it was a dark pattern they put as logout after those long list of past orders. It's okay!🤐

This is a more scalable solution in a case to add new features as well, for example, Swiggy Money. (PS: When I design this page, Swiggy Money feature wasn't there in this page)

My Account

If we open and show my account section upfront here, we may need to rethink the past order treatment. There comes the next part.

2. Past Orders

This is the place I would like to bring an extra click! If the company is expanding its business to different verticals, I feel past order deserves its own page, where the user won't be distracted by any other non-relevant information. Maybe something like this.

Past Orders

By doing this I could clearly give a visual separation from one order to another and give a little more context to the order.

3. Past Order Details

If you compare current past orders and its details a lot of information is repeating right from the items to actions. Why can't we bring a better opening card interaction here, rather moving it to a different page? For someone who is interested to see the price details part, they can open it and see the details. Others can simply scan through, rate, reorder — eat, and relax! (😀kidding).

Order Details

It's always great that we can help users to achieve their goals in fewer steps, but that doesn't mean we should compromise a delightful path.

So, that's it folks, small but good to have concept of Swiggy account and past orders.

Before you go

You can appreciate with a single clap 👏 if you like this concept and if you like it more you can clap max of 50 👏👏👏 now in Medium (by a long press on clap icon).

Also if you found this interesting feel free to share it as well. Please let me know your thoughts and valuable feedback in the comment.

You can connect with me on Dribbble, Instagram, Linkedin

Cheers!

--

--