Creating group hashtags and mentions on Instagram

Jishnu K O
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readJun 11, 2020

--

“Bro tell me some cool hashtags for a design post”

What account I should mention to get more reach?”

We all love to use these cool hashtags and mentions. Just to recall,

Hashtag: In Instagrams’s language, hashtags are those words written along with hashtag sign. For example: #userexperience #productdesign etc. These hashtags become a link to search results on Instagram with similar words.

Mention: When a user includes your @instagramhandle in their post it is counted as a mention. This notifies them as someone mentioned in their post.

If you are a designer/ a traveler/ a photographer or someone who uses Instagram account as a portfolio then you may relate this. We generally use hashtags and mentions to get an organic reach for our post to a larger audience. I do this and my post be like…

My Instagram page

The Problem

People who post similar content, for eg. Design/ Travel/Photography, etc often use almost the same hashtags and mentions. I am that kind of guy and when I post a new design I used to copy from my previous post.

Yes, I go to my previous post, clicks on edit and copy the whole hashtags and mention, then paste it to my new post. Or I save them in my Notes!

This is the behavior of my persona.

What if Instagram is providing this option before I post every design?

Just Thinking

Let's check the current flow!

Instead of 👆🏾, what if you see something like this 👇🏾!

Create a New Post

I hope you figure out the difference😀

You can just write the caption and select the group of hashtags, which will be automatically added to your post while posting. Make sense right?

This may look fine. But how those groups came there? There comes the main part which I think, would be very helpful for me as a user.

How to create a Hashtag group?

“Add Hashtag Groups” can be an entry point to create this. Of course, this required an onboarding screen. Was thinking a modal approach in order to reduce no of screens and users should not deviate from their core flow (Which is posting). The group includes a Group Name and a set of Hashtags and Mentions.

Onboarding and Create a New group

mmmm, but….

You can use up to 30 tags on a post. If you include more than 30 tags on a single photo/video, your post won’t go live. Same in the case of mention. This should be communicated while creating the group.

Creating a New Hashtag Group

So the group is created. This will be visible as a small widget shown in Create a New Post Screen. Similarly, we can create n no. of group and edit/delete it as well. When you click the right arrow next to the Add Hashtag Group you will see all the hashtag groups you created. You will be able to choose, edit, add/remove any item you think, the same modal will open — recognition rather than recall.

My Hashtag Groups

So that's how I think this problem can be solved!

Will see with another problem and solution soon! Stay safe, quarantine and chill🍺

Before you go

I spent more than 6 hours to design and finalize 12+ screens for this concept. But you can appreciate with a single clap 👏, if you like it more you can clap max of 50 👏👏👏 now in Medium (by a long press on clap icon).

Also if you found this interesting feel free to share it as well. Please let me know your thoughts and valuable feedback in the comment.

You can connect with me on Dribbble, Instagram, Linkedin

Cheers!

--

--