The Art of Dream Building Pt.3: Vision

Joe Ash
3 min readMay 29, 2017

--

Building of the BAEPLEX campus, 2015.

“Without a vision, ye shall perish,” Proverbs 29:18.

Vision is one of the most important components of Dream Building because it’s the part that creates the details of what’s possible. When it comes to manifesting our dreams, vision is about seeing the unseen. Unseen, being the key element here because that which you are about to embark on has yet to be done. If there is something you see over and over in your mind and continues to pull at you, even when you ignore it, that is the universe speaking to you. Tony Robbins uses the phrase “Universal Whispers” to describe this phenomenon. In order to manifest these “Universal Whispers”, you must move forward with the belief that you are capable of achieving the idea, thought, or vision you’ve been given, as I mentioned in Part One.

I’ve done this myself when I was in the process of building the new campus. I visualized the building before it was built, I saw myself walking through the completed trails, every aspect of the project was alive in my mind before we ever broke ground. I would even take business calls in my car at the property and visualize my future office space as I conducted business. Those interactions helped to make the process more tangible and obtainable for me. Visualization takes your dreams from mere thoughts to ideas that can be acted on with great vigor.

Visualization not only helps when it comes to manifesting your dreams, it is also effective when you’re trying to break through limiting beliefs or barriers, both physical and mental. If you’ve never used visualization before here are a couple of ideas to help you start visualizing your dreams and take the next step.

  1. Do not judge your vision. Often times our dreams are bigger than we believe possible. Allow your dreams to be as BIG as they come to you. Give yourself the freedom to allow your dreams to unfold without judgment. As Les Brown says, “aim for the moon and if you miss, at least you’ll be among the stars.”
  2. Start a journal or vision board. If you keep a journal, write down everything you encounter that reaffirms your dreams and helps you visualize their manifestation. If you utilize a vision board, seek out the images and words that invoke positive thoughts to propel you and your dreams forward. Take note of what is inspiring and empowering you. Whether you use a journal, a vision board, or both, make it your own. You’re the only one who needs to understand their significance.
  3. Sit with your vision. Meditation is a great way to sit with your vision. Whether you meditate while being still or active taking the time to clear your mind of everything but the vision you have for yourself will help to move you forward. For me, meditation takes many forms. Sometimes I sit quietly outside, other times I meditate through painting. There is no right or wrong way to meditate. It’s all about what you need to manifest your vision in your mind.

There is no one way to achieve a dream. Instead, there are a variety of pathways that have been proven to work for others. In my next series, The Science of Achievement, I’ll dig deeper into how we turn the dreams we have into realities.

--

--

Joe Ash

Martial Arts Professional, Author, Speaker & Painter of Zen