My first year as an entrepreneur: lessons from survival

John Pa
6 min readApr 29, 2017

I almost lost everything my first year as an entrepreneur. But, in the process, I did gain something even more valuable than money. Experience.

I tell the story of my first year in a previous article, but I’ll summarize here. I didn’t have any income for over three months and decided to radically cut my spending to a dollar a day outside of rent and gas for my car. The girl I moved to San Diego for told me to get a “real job,” and, sadly, I tried. But, I failed to find one and had to continue on my path, which looked like it was heading towards bankruptcy. Then, I spent a few more months waiting for a miracle to happen. Eventually, one did, and I won the largest project that I would have for the next two years.

From that time, I learned a lot about myself and starting a business. Here are five key lessons.

Listen inward.

Everyone has an inner voice or gut feeling. It tells us to follow our dreams. It shows us the work we love. It beckons us to listen.

There are some who do, and then there are many who don’t. We often listen to voices outside of that inner voice. And, we end up living a life that other people want us to live.

My gut was telling me to start a business. I knew that it is not rational to do it. After…

--

--