Josh English
2 min readFeb 16, 2016

I walked into the office 2 weeks ago and dropped the bomb with this statement “I am officially putting in my two weeks notice.” I could feel the rush of excitement pour over me as I envisioned what the future may look like. Then the happiness started to fade and I realized what I just did.

I left my job without a promise of future income

Did I really just do that? Did I actually step away from a great paying job with benefits? Did I step away from security? How would I eat? How would I pay my rent? Do I have enough savings to float me while I chase my dream? Is the dream real?

Doubt began to take over

Doubt is the number one thing that deters us from accomplishing something greater. I sought mentors and close friends to help push me a step further into fulfilling my dream.

Time can make or break your opportunity

I have spent the last two weeks off boarding projects, saying my goodbyes and making sure all prior tasks are completed. Doubt turns into desire as I realize I am heading in the right direction.

Run fast

So last Friday was the last day in the office. I left knowing that the past remains to be the person you were and not the person you are going to become. My smile grew as I walked away farther and farther from my old office. Questions still ponder my mind but I realize my energy should focus on the future.

So what is next?

Today I began my journey into very different waters. I start the Web Development Immersive at General Assembly. I am going to spend the next 3 months walking through my journey with a daily v-log that I will post to my barebones website. Additionally, I’ll share why I am going into this program and what it is helping me launch.

You can follow my journey of what is next by going to HERE!!!!!

My hope is that you get an understanding of what it means to seize opportunities that will allow you to grow and be challenged. It is about risk taking and leveraging the tools at your disposal.

Looking forward to sharing my journey with you.

More Articles by Josh English from redothecube

“Nathan Latka is He All Talk and No Show”

“Your Confidence Destroying You?”

“Defined Focus”

“Stop wasting time and $$$. Eliminate your workplace turnover“

“Opening the Door is Not Always Easy”