Start your community with Social Media

Jean-Vincent Hirigoyen
4 min readDec 10, 2018

--

The world has changed. Social Media offer a new way for people to make a lot of cash and for businesses to gain visibility. More and more businesses use social media to build a strong link with their users. I was in Berlin last week looking for a Noodlebar. I was looking for the same kind of Ramen Naruto loves.

A quick research show me Pho a really nice and affordable Vietnamese retaurant. When you enter “Noodle bar Berlin” they appear to be the first result on Google. On Instagram they have more than 2500 followers and get more than 500 likes when posting food pictures. The owner explained how long it was to find the proper text, the proper picture and the proper emojis and # to reach the right audience. They sticked to one post by day to keep the momentum.

Why should I be on Social Media ?

When starting my first business on a different topic, I was struggling with the SEO and Social Media parts. As an engineer, I can spend hours and days working on my product and still being blocked while writing posts. Every day I was asking myself the same questions :

Which parts of my text should I keep ?
How to find time to post everyday ? Which articles should I post ?
Which # should I use ?

Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

You cannot build a community if you are not consistent on your posts, this is what Pho taught me. I decided to move away from my first business and focus on Social Media. After all, I am a 24 years old guy and the pain of business travel is not really something I experience. Isolation, lack of time and skills on the marketing part is something much more related to me.
As every startup founders, I have to manage the customer support, product development, programming, Sales & Marketing development. I am looking for the niche that will be super interested in my product. The kind of users that feel the same pain than I have. Peter Thiel points out finding your distribution channel might be way more powerful than trying many that work relatively. So I was thinking how can I try as much niche market as possible in a small period of times and find the good one ?
After all every big businesses like Google, Facebook, Segment, Hotjar, Airbnb, Digital Ocean started on a small niche market. As we have a limited amount of cash, we need to figure this out as quickly as possible. TIME is the worst enemy.

Which platform could be helpful ?

There are a couple of Markeitng platform around. Most of them help users scheduling posts and sometimes measuring the ROI of their campaigns. However I didn’t find an affordable tool to help me generate the content of my posts. As more tha 3 billions of people on this planet use at least one of the 5 big social media platform, I guess there is a play there.
I worked on a new tool called Connectix. Connectix do the content generation job for you. When you write a blog, just enter the URL in the approriate field, Connectix will generate the right post including the approriate hashtags and emojis. If you miss time to look for articles of your industry, you can also crawl a library of more than 500 000 articles updated daily.
You don’t need to be a Social Media manager or be in love with the marketing topics, you take 30 seconds or 5 minutes every day to post 1–10 posts. Trust me you will see the difference in one month.

How does Connectix help you writing better posts ?

Connectix extracts key phrases and sentences from the text to generate the content. Here it a list of tries for this post. First one :

So I was thinking how can I try as much niche market as possible in a small period of times and find the good one 🗯 💰 👍 🔍 ?, #BusinessTravel, #Pain, #NicheMarket, https://medium.com/@jv.hirigoyen/start-your-community-with-social-media-a5ea10e91f2

The #BusinessTravel is bad for this post. It appears because I was talking too much about my first startup in the Business Travel industry. Connectix helped me to figure this out and I changed the content to make it more compelling for my audience.

Here is the second try:

So I was thinking how can I try as much niche market as possible in a small period of times and find the good one 💭 💰 👍 🔎 ?, #Pain, #NicheMarket, #SEO, https://medium.com/@jv.hirigoyen/start-your-community-with-social-media-a5ea10e91f2

That is much better and reflect more the content of this post for Twitter.
Here is what it looks like on Linkedin.

#Marketing, #SEO and #socialmedia were proposed by Linkedin. So I added them. These # were proposed as my post was well summarized.

Didn’t try yet ? Sign up and try it out.

--

--

Jean-Vincent Hirigoyen

Founder of Connectix. A Marketing and analytics tool to boost small business visibility and increase user engagement