Launching Boston Made

Ken Sigel
2 min readJun 28, 2016

--

This week I’m launching BOSTON MADE. It’s a side project born out of a Slack discussion. The idea behind it is to show our pride in making great things right here in Boston.

WHAT IS BOSTON MADE?

Boston Made is a rallying cry for Boston. It represents to the world that Boston is the place to build great companies, develop new technologies, create amazing work. Boston Made tells the world that this is where the future is being constructed.

WHO IS BOSTON MADE FOR?

If you’re an entrepreneur, a maker, a developer, a designer, an investor, a blogger in or around Boston, this is for you. You’re doing the hard work to make Boston ever better.

WHAT DO I NEED TO DO?

Just add the Boston Made badge to the footer of your website. You can download it here. There are 2 versions of the badge, in black (Boston Made — Positive) and white (Boston Made — Negative). Use whichever badge works best with your site.

Boston Made badge in both Positive and Negative versions.

WHERE DID THE BOSTON MADE IDEA COME FROM?

It started as a discussion in the Tech in Boston Slack channel. People were talking about showing our pride for building companies from Boston. I thought it was a cool idea and would be fun to work on. I tested several iterations of the badge with the channel, getting great feedback and encouragement.

WHAT’S YOUR PLAN FOR BOSTON MADE?

My hope is to contribute to the startup community here in Boston. I’d love to help promote, encourage, and connect great people and companies.

On the TiB podcast, Dave Gerhardt always ends with asking his guests what the Boston Startup community can do better. The answer is almost always “we need to promote ourselves more.” My hope is that Boston Made can help just a little with that.

WHY DID YOU MAKE BOSTON MADE?

Because it’s fun! Side projects are worthwhile and reward you for the effort. I’m not a visual designer. This was an opportunity to try my hand at a different skill. I enjoyed it, and learned a few things. I recommend you try a side project too!

Get your badge at BostonMade.org today!

I hope you like this idea, and the design. I’d love feedback either way. If you did like it, I’d appreciate if you pressed the below to help me share the idea. I also set up a Facebook page for more information about Boston Made. And most of all, thank you for reading!

--

--

Ken Sigel

Product design leader living in Boston. I build design teams. Sometimes I write things. - https://www.linkedin.com/in/kensigel/